Icelandic Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
I love Scandinavian cooking, so I couldn't wait to try this loaf cake. I could not find cardamom flavoring and so used 1 tsp. cardamom spice instead. I have made this three times. Once according to the original recipe, once with an extra egg yolk, and once with candied orange peel instead of raisins. All turned out really well. The cake keeps well and can be toasted or used to make "Poor Nights of England," a Brit version of French toast served as dessert. I use golden raisins instead of regular ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Wonderful cake! I was just in Iceland and had a cake very similar. Thanks for sharing! One tip: don't worry about trying to track down cardamom extract - just use 1/2 tsp cardamom powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
I wanted muffins, so I added a 1/2 t. more baking powder and added milk until the consistency was a little less thick than the original recipe made. I also used currants soaked in tea instead of raisins. They came out perfect. The flavor is unique and delicate. It was just what I was looking for, something light, refreshing and different than your usual muffin fare. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Very good. My family is Icelandic and my Amma used to make something very similar, a nice change from vinetarta...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Used my basic recipe for the basis to this but used the flavourings and it was oh, so yummy! Made cardamon extract by soaking about 5/6 crushed green cardamons in hot water and added this. Will use this as an idea again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
it's great! I love it! But I added apricot and walnuts and doubled the amount of raisins, I wanted it to be rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Very good, I used 1 tsp of ground cardamom since I couldn't find the extract and next time I will add 1 tsp of the lemon extract. Very easy to make and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This cake is delicious, tastes just like Christmas cake should! However, we cannot find an 11 inch pan, used a standard 9 inch and cooked it a little longer. Still had a gooey center but we ate it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TGR
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Very nice. I ground some cardamom just before adding it. And instead of using dried fruits I just added a handful of roasted almond pieces. The batter tasted very lemony, but I couldn't taste much of the lemon after baking. I think next time I will just leave out the lemon and substitute vanilla instead. Took about 1 hour and 20 minutes to bake to a moist consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This made the house smell wonderful! I didn't have lemon flavouring so I added orange zest. Also had only cardamon spice so followed what others did there. Comfort load for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States