Icelandic Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Love it! instead of raisins I used cranberries, and used a lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Wonderful recipe, goes great with brie cheese (appetizer)! Also, I used ground cardamom instead of the extract, gives a nice little appearance/color to the bread instead of plain white ... one more change I did was to use craisins instead of raisins, adds a very nice red color to the bread, festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrschuweiler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Fairly easy cake to make, especially for how mouth-wateringly delicious it is. I have made this cake at least 5 times, and it never fails to impress me and everyone else! I can never find the cardamom extract, but it seems the ground cardamom makes quite a satisfactory substitute. I have and will continue to recommend this to anyone looking for a new dessert for any holiday, or any reason at all, really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Made thses for holiday gifts. It is a very good recipe. I loved the slight cardamom flavor. I did not have extract so I simmered a handful of pods I had on hand in the milk. Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I was really excited to make this, but found it disappointing. The bread was too dense for me (you can sort of tell in the picture) and dried out rapidly. I made it for a potluck Christmas brunch and it was not very popular. If you're craving something similar, I recommend finding a yeast bread that calls for cardamom. My husband's (Swedish) family makes an excellent braided bread, they call it "Coffee bread." If you google "Swedish Coffee Bread" you'll find many options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa.murakami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This cake reminds me of the German cakes my mom used to bake. A welcome change from the heavily frosted cakes. I made it for Christmas exactly to the recipe with the exception of adding pecans because we all like them. I can see that adding more fruit might add to the flavor. I'm giving it five stars because everyone said it was very good and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Baked it for the first time today. Absolutely lovely combination of flavors. A winner!!! I used orange extract as I did not have lemon extract and used 1/2 tsp. of ground cardamom seeds, decreased sugar by 1/4 cup, increased raisins and added dried cranberries to = 3/4 cup of fruit and 1tbslp. ground flax seed. This is superlative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Great flavor but a bit too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I was excited to find a cake recipe with cardamom but overall was disappointed with the end result. It smelled wonderful baking but came out too dry. I too thought the raisins didn't go well with the texture or the taste of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Used my basic recipe for the basis to this but used the flavourings and it was oh, so yummy! Made cardamon extract by soaking about 5/6 crushed green cardamons in hot water and added this. Will use this as an idea again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States