Icelandic Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
Great recipe! I have made a few times! I used 1 tsp ground cardamon and the grated rind of 1 lemon (I can not find cardamon extract) and it tasted amazing! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Great flavor, but what a mess! The very center was still a tiny bit gooey, and the rest was quite crumbly. I doubled the recipe and made two loaves. Maybe I shouldn't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGAR88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This takes quite a while to bake, but it is well worth it. I was amazed that this was one of the more popular cakes I have ever made! More popular than rich chocolate cakes etc. You will be surprised how wonderfully it turns out and tastes! Wonderful cake! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
perfect for breakfast and so so easy to make! great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This quick bread is simply amazing and very forgiving. I've made it at least 10 times, once with only half the butter, and every time this unassuming cake gets all kinds of praise heaped on it. And it's a fantastic alternative to banana and zucchini breads, and even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is VERY tasty! I made it for my son's country report and snuck a piece before school. I used ground cardamom (1 tsp) as well and added it to the dry ingredients. The slight taste of lemon suits it very well. The texture is so moist, though very crumbly to cut. A good sharp bread knife would work best I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I am sorry, but this recipe yielded poor results in my kitchen. After 55 minutes in a 350-degree oven this cake came out burnt black and hard as a rock. If I were to make this recipe again I would bake it for about 30-35 minutes, tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is my favorite raisin cake. Easy to bake but also delightful to eat with that terrific Scandinavian flavor of cardamom. A great addition to a collection of Scandinavian baking recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Not sure why people have had problems with this cake..................maybe didn t follow directions. Anyway, love this type of cake the only snag being here is that we do not like cardamon and had to omit it. Add the rind of a lemon instead and gives a lovely flavor. When it comes to baking time for cakes I always check long before the time supposed to be used is up because ovens differ. Only makes and this is also a suggestion to new bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States