Iced Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Just made these tonight. They are yummy! Kids and husband did not even wait till I iced them! I made one modification based on other reviews: I used 1 cup of white sugar plus 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. As another reviewer mentioned these cookies do not spread while baking. They come out of the oven exactly as they went in. My first batch was kind of "spiky" since I used an ice cream scoop to drop them on the pan. The next batch I smoothed the tops with a wet finger and they came out beautifully. I used the icing in the recipe (adding a little cinnamon). Some I fully iced the tops and some my daughter drizzled icing on. My family preferred the ones with just a little icing (or none at all!) I will be making another batch to take to our family Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I didn't think these were very good at all and we love pumpkin anything. They were too "bready".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I read a lot of the reviews before trying it, so I tried it with some revisions: 1) swap 1/2 of the white sugar for brown sugar. 2) add an extra egg. 3) use a full 15 oz can of pumpkin puree instead of just 1 cup. 4) add a couple dashes of ginger and a couple extra dashes of cinnamon. 5) leave off the icing. 6) Make sure cookie sheets are greased - the recipe does not state this. 7) Bake for between 11-13 minutes only. BEST PUMPKIN COOKIES EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Made this exactly as written, and they were delicious. I get better results with the glaze when I sift the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These cookies are wonderful! Their texture is smooth. I make these multiple times in the fall and sometimes throughout the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made them as the recipe said, except I was afraid they'd taste a little bland, so I added white chocolate chips and they were great. They're very soft and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
The texture of these cookies is excellent, and they have just the right amount of sweetness, but I do think I'll up the spices a bit the next time I bake them (I substituted ground ginger for the allspice---not a big fan). I'm keeping them in a container on the counter loosely covered with foil and they don't seem to be getting soggy. I also added a splash of maple syrup to the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Baked for 12-13 minutes .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
We made these tonight and LOVED them! Super tasty alone but we had to try them with butterscotch chips and that was amazing! We also dipped some in a cream cheese glaze after baking and others we topped with walnuts before baking. This one is going in the book! Thank you Gina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I'm not a fan of pumpkin, but I had a lot of pumpkin puree. These are great, easy to make and they taste good. I love soft cookies, not the hard ones and these were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States