Iced Mochas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
I wish there was an option for 6 stars! This is great. Ok here's what i found: 1 1/2 cups coffee = 6 ice cubes. I only made a half recipe so that was 3 ice cubes (frozen coffee cubes), 1 cup milk - and i used 2T chocolate and 2T caramel syrup plus 2T sugar. It was still very sweet so next time I'll omit the sugar and just add a little at a time to taste. It is a little runny for my taste so I added 4 regular ice cubes to help make it more frosty. This recipe is very easy and can easily be adapted to make all the specialty flavors for frozen coffees (peppermint, oreo, etc.) - just watch the sweetness. I also double-brewed my coffee (made it regular then ran the brewed coffee thru the machine again like it was water with the same grounds as the first time) to make it more intese and used decalf (all I had on hand). YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
Great recipe! Wendy is absolutely correct to tell us to use ice cubes made of leftover coffee (they don't dilute the flavor the way regular ice would). I give it 4 stars only because I think you should sweeten this (and all iced coffee drinks) with simple syrup instead of sugar. Sugar doesn't dissolve completely and leaves granules. Simple syrup is simply 1 part water and 1 part sugar. Boil together till sugar dissolves, cool. You can store this in your refrigerator for weeks. (I work for a coffee company. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Very good. Next time, I'll try it with whipped cream on top and putting chocolate syrup on the inside of the glass. The coffee ice cubes was a stroke of genius. EDITED REVIEW: Now that I've adapted a healthier lifestyle and am eating lighter, I cut the milk back a bit and use either two tablespoons french vanilla flavored sugar free creamer or two tablespoons fat free evaporated milk, my homemade sugar free chocolate syrup and if it's not sweet enough, a couple packets Truvia sweetener. It's every bit as good as the full fat version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Awesome icy treat! Perfect for when you want to have the "coffeehouse experience" right in your own house. I just used cold coffee and crushed iced in my blender as I didn't want to take the time to freeze the cubes. I also used skim milk. This made more than enough for me and my husband to share. It was so good topped off with a whipped cream and little more chocolate syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2003
Like other reviewers said, this really does resemble a mocha frappachino at Starbucks, which happens to be my favorite!! Very good - I have added caramel to mine as well, giving it a slightly different taste. Will now be saving my $5.00 at Starbucks by making my own for pennies! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
What else can I say but WOW?!?! The consistancy is perfect! I added a half teaspoon of cinnamon to the recipe and poured it into some pretty glasses. My friends and family like it coffee shoppe style with whip cream, a sprinkle of cinnamon, a bit of chocolate syrup, and some chocolate sprinkles on top. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I LOVE IT!!!! It was so incredibly good. It actually tastes alot like the coffee coolatas from Dunkin Donuts. I made it at work tonight for my boss and coworker, they absolutlely LOVED it. My boss actually came looking for more. My only advice is, if you're going to make this, make sure you make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
Ok, I didn't read the recipe all the way through and I neglected to freeze the coffee into cubes (what kind of cook am I? I know, I know) and didn't realize until too late. Oops. So I just blended all the ingredients (my coffee was cold) with a hand blender and poured over crushed ice. Yum. Next time I make these I'll do it the right way but it's fine just the way I did it today. Very very yummy with just the right amount of sweetness. Perfect for when you want your coffee but it's hot and muggy outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This was very tasty! It's really sweet, which may be a problem for some but was perfect for me. I used double-strong brewed coffee for my ice cubes. I scaled the recipe to serve half as much, it turned out very well. This tasted something like a Starbucks Mocha Frappucino--I'd definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Great recipe - I always had powdered chocolate milk mix, not syrup, and it's still awesome. Can't wait to try it the right way! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Coffee

See how to make a quick chocolate coffee milkshake.

How to Make Long Island Iced Tea

Watch how to make this tea-free, punch-packing alcoholic drink.

Long Island Iced Tea Cocktail

See how to make a potent cocktail that’s dangerously delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States