Ice Cream Sundae Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
A food processor will also work making crumbs of those cookies quickly. Just a few pulses will do it!!! I can't wait to try this recipe -- been looking for a new one to try during the summer heat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Great basic recipe! I would have used vanilla but I was gifted with a quart of strawberry ice cream today so I used strawberry ice cream in this recipe. I skipped baking the Oreo crust but loved the homemade whipped cream for the top. It is a relief to find a recipe that calls for fresh cream rather than store-bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Great! To the person who needs a way to crush the chocolate wafers -- just put in a zip lock back and use a rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I've made this for 50 years but never with whipped cream - just vanilla ice cream and strawberries layered. 1st time I served it our friend asked, "where have you been all my life?" It's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This did not turn out well at all. Maybe I did something wrong? It just turned out to be a giant mess. First, I used a 9-inch pie plate but I don't see how anyone could fit a QUART of ice cream into a 9-inch pie plate (unless maybe it was a deep dish?) The crust was easy to make - and the only part of the pie that I really liked, it was delicious. I used Nabisco Famous Chocolate Wafers (crushed). As for the rest, once I added the strawberries (used fresh not frozen) the "softened" ice cream started overflowing the pie crust so I didn't add the second layer of ice cream. Just topped the strawberries with the whipped cream (which really needed some vanilla added) and then froze it. The ice cream was overflowing so bad that I had to place the pie on a plate in the freezer to catch the spillover. After letting it thaw for a few minutes before slicing, it was still hard to cut into and I did not at all like the taste of the frozen strawberries. I would try this crust again but maybe just filled with fresh strawberries (chopped & with sugar sprinkled over them to bring out their juices) and then topped with whipped cream (heavy whipping cream with 2 TBSP powdered sugar and 1 tsp vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
This is GREAT. My husband and I both LOVED IT! Would be great with raspberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
An excellent and easy dessert. I served it at a dinner party and people loved it. just need a good way to make crumbs of chocolate wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
this recipe is awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
Really delicious and great for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States