Ice Cream Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This is a great, easy recipe. I made with all natural vanilla ice cream. It made a great base scone, and I can't wait to try different flavors or adding things like blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Yum as! And sooooooooo easy to make....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Rotorua, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Easy to make, delicious, and fabulous presentation!!! I made this recipe using Banana Split Ice Cream. Dusted with powdered sugar and placed a half slice strawberry in the center. The grand finale was drizzling (including the plate) with caramel sauce or chocolate sauce. What a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
So easy. I had alot of fun playing with this recipe. You can substitute chocolate yogert ice cream, and add toffee/chocolate heath chips to sweeten them up. I can't wait to try this with my strawberry chocolate yogert ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
YUMMY! This is So simple! I JUST made these using cookies & cream ice cream (It's all I had & I really wanted to try this-it seemed way too easy!)and made my own self-rising flour using all purpose + 1 1/2 tsp baking powder & 1/2 tsp salt per 1 cup of flour. Only addition-I brushed beaten egg white on top and sprinkled sugar (what I normally do when I make scones)except 1 scone I left just as recipe says and the other I just brushed w/ egg white, no sugar. I liked the ones w/ sugar but the best looking was w/ JUST the egg white brushed on (w/o sugar). I only did half the recipe (I wasn't sure if it would turn out) & got 9 nice sized pie-slice shaped scones. Give it a try, its FUN and EASY and tastes WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
These were a little sweet, but for the ease of the recipe and how we ate them up, I am giving them a five. Used inexpensive vanilla ice cream. would have been great with powdered sugar on them, but I id not make them to be sweet. maybe next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This turned out pretty well, despite not having self rising flour (instead I used 1 1/2 tablespoons of baking powder and 1/8 teaspoon of salt per cup of unbleached flower). It wasn't holding consistency very well so I added a little more flour. In addition, I added 2 tablespoons of vanilla extract, 1 cup of peanut butter, and about half a cup of chocolate chips. My roommates devoured them! Adding more flour made them take about 25 minutes or so in the oven (we also don't have a kitchen timer). Can't wait to try it with other ice creams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozamanthus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
By far and away the easiest and the best recipe for scones I have found. I prefer to make this with an ice cream that has more of a plain base flavor like just vanilla or just pumpkin and add in blueberries, fruit or nuts after I make the dough. Tried making this the first time with an icecream that had a fruit ripple, but in mixing the ice cream with the flour it turned a really odd shade of pink because the ripple just disappeared. Anyways it is really good topped with cinnamon and course sugar or an oatmeal crumb topping. Very much worth your while. Recipe itself is perfect as is. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
yieummy This is good .What made me try this is the beautiful blonde at first look .Loved it , he recipe that is . Well Pinkdazzi also lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by White Pines chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
These were very easy to make and I used rasberry icec ream and reg enriched flour which means just use 1.5 tsp bkg pwd to make it self rising flour, next time strawnerry vanilla ice cream. . . these topped with jam or honey are perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States