Ice Cream Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
YUMMY! This is So simple! I JUST made these using cookies & cream ice cream (It's all I had & I really wanted to try this-it seemed way too easy!)and made my own self-rising flour using all purpose + 1 1/2 tsp baking powder & 1/2 tsp salt per 1 cup of flour. Only addition-I brushed beaten egg white on top and sprinkled sugar (what I normally do when I make scones)except 1 scone I left just as recipe says and the other I just brushed w/ egg white, no sugar. I liked the ones w/ sugar but the best looking was w/ JUST the egg white brushed on (w/o sugar). I only did half the recipe (I wasn't sure if it would turn out) & got 9 nice sized pie-slice shaped scones. Give it a try, its FUN and EASY and tastes WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
By far and away the easiest and the best recipe for scones I have found. I prefer to make this with an ice cream that has more of a plain base flavor like just vanilla or just pumpkin and add in blueberries, fruit or nuts after I make the dough. Tried making this the first time with an icecream that had a fruit ripple, but in mixing the ice cream with the flour it turned a really odd shade of pink because the ripple just disappeared. Anyways it is really good topped with cinnamon and course sugar or an oatmeal crumb topping. Very much worth your while. Recipe itself is perfect as is. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is really easy, and the dough is extremely sticky, but I have to say that every single scone recipe I've ever made has sticky dough. That's just the way scones are. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer and used the dough hook. Although the dough did climb the hook, it was too sticky to act like regular dough, but I only added maybe 1/2 c more of flour since I expected the stickiness anyway. I kind of expected these to be more scone-like than they are--they really remind me of sweeter biscuits. Good, just not my vision of scones. I used peach ice cream and then after placing on the cookie sheet I brushed with butter extract and sprinkled with cinnamon and brown sugar. They aren't especially sweet and as other's noticed, the flavor is relatively mild, but scones (and biscuits) can be really good with jam or jelly, so I'm not worried about that part of it. Especially as this is a recipe with only two ingredients, so I'm not sure what others were expecting. I made my own self rising flour since I never have it on hand. Use 1 1/2 tspoons baking powder and 1/2 tspoons salt per cup of flour. Voila! Self rising flour. Not sure of all of the variations pple have come up on the reviews here; that's the recipe that I've always used, and it always works for me. Thanks for the recipe; it used up some of my ice cream and was fun to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Easy to make, delicious, and fabulous presentation!!! I made this recipe using Banana Split Ice Cream. Dusted with powdered sugar and placed a half slice strawberry in the center. The grand finale was drizzling (including the plate) with caramel sauce or chocolate sauce. What a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This turned out pretty well, despite not having self rising flour (instead I used 1 1/2 tablespoons of baking powder and 1/8 teaspoon of salt per cup of unbleached flower). It wasn't holding consistency very well so I added a little more flour. In addition, I added 2 tablespoons of vanilla extract, 1 cup of peanut butter, and about half a cup of chocolate chips. My roommates devoured them! Adding more flour made them take about 25 minutes or so in the oven (we also don't have a kitchen timer). Can't wait to try it with other ice creams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozamanthus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I used vanilla ice cream, and they were wonderful!!!! I don't quite know if I used enough ice cream, though, becuase I measured it before I melted it, and it was a little trick to get into the measuring cup from the bowl. It was really sticky for me, so make sure you have plenty of flour on hand!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Shockingly bad results! The dough was VERY difficult to work with. They smelled delightful while they were cooking. The end result- did not taste AT ALL! Really, no flavor whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALLI1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
It was easy and fun to try, and although the scones rose nicely, I found the texture to be heavy and dense rather than light and flaky. Also, due to the amount of self-rising flour, the salt content is too high for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This is a great, easy recipe. I made with all natural vanilla ice cream. It made a great base scone, and I can't wait to try different flavors or adding things like blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I had some peach ice cream on hand so thought I'd give this recipe a try. The scones looked great but were very bitter. I was out of self rising flour so added salt and baking soda (didn't realize until later I hadn't used powder. I goofed this one up, so I'll give it another shot and follow directions next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States