Ice Cream Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I made several batches of these over the holidays, and received many compliments! I used apricot, raspberry and sour cherry preserves. Also, I used large cookie cutters to make them look especially festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This recipe has been in our family for over 50 years. We use it every Christmas season. There is a slight difference in rolling out the dough. We roll it out paper thin, then add Solo Brand Poppy Seed, Almond, or any type of preserves you like. When we cut out the dough with a glass, we fill it, then we fold the corners to make a small popover, then we pierce it with a fork to keep it together. We cook them for 12- 14 minutes. Everything else is pretty much the same. If you would like more info, contact me via email. This is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
My best friend while growing up used to make this at christmas. I lost the recipie she gave me. This is the same exact way she used to make hers. These are great. Everyone who tries them loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This is a wonderful recipie and got rave reviews from my mother who made kolackys for years. I did find the dough a bit wet and adding an extra 2/3c. of four helped greatly.When rolling out the cookies we use powdered sugar instead of flour. It gives the cookies an added sweetness. The only other variant is the way way we cut out the cookies. We cut squares aproxamently 2x2 and add a small dollop of lekvar, apricot or nut filling then roll tightly pressing the open ends to seal. Thank you so much for posting this recipie and giving me a wonderful holiday cookie from my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Zervos Holbrook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelsey
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
These were awesome! It needs a little extra flour, though. I used fresh raspberries from my raspberry bush, mashed them, put them in a saucepan, added some corn starch plus a little water, then I cooked it for a couple of minutes until it thickened. I suggest using fresh fruit and cook it like I did...it is really delicious! They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I've used this recipe for nearly 40 years. My grandmother had a SOLO pie filling cookbook that we made many recipes from and this was one of them. I usually make 3 or 4 batches every Christmas and my boys can't get enough! And sooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Like so many other reviewers, this recipe was handed down to me by my mother-in-law. I simply must make it every holiday, and occasionally throughout the year too. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
These were beautiful! I didn't need to add anything extra to them. I used Haagan Daaz(sp?) Vanilla and added it with my hands because I don't have dough hooks, and I had to defrost myself several times with warm water. I realize now I could have worn gloves, but it doesn't matter. I rolled the cookies to about 1/4 inch thickness, and made the holes with my thumb. I filled the holes with strawberry preserves. The cookies were perfect, good flavor, texture, and appeararance. Also easy to make. MAke this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Divine! The dough is so rich and tender. I used vanilla ice cream and cinnamon ice cream from this site. This recipe will be a favorite in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I was reading all of the bad reviews. This is a polish cookie! There is not a lot of flavor to the dough so that the flavor of whatever preserve you use. I also add at least 2 tbl. of sugar to my dough. You also have to sprinkle them with powdered sugar, and a heavy duty mixer is a must! We have been eating these kolacky since I can remember and the whole family loves them. They are a tradition in our house! I can't believe that this recipe is on here! We have been making this recipe for at least 40 years, as someone else had mentioned. Except our recipe was from a clipping in the newspaper. This is the BEST kolacky recipe ever. The dough is so flaky and my family absolutely loves them. Don't let the ice cream scare you off, you only have to let it soften, not melt! A really easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States