Ice Cream Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
used best ice cream to make these cookies. they were to die for and easy to make. will make them again and could actually taste ice cream in them.I made my own filling for them with blueberries and apples i had in my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Not sure what I did wrong with the recipe, but the dough was impossible to roll out, way too sticky. So, instead, I rolled into small balls, put them on the cookie sheet and then pressed down in the center with my thumb and filled. So more like a thumbprint cookie. I didn't find that the cookies had a lot of flavor, maybe better with vanilla or almond extract? They were good, but a little plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The dough surprised me-it's like a croissant! It was so easy to make. I made it for the first time today. Delicious! I used my food processor to cut down on time and effort and used all natural blackberry preserves. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettoothgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I was given a few jars of preserves and needed a recipe to use them in. I received this recipe in an email and decided to try it out before Christmas. I used a Kitchen Aid mixer with the bread dough hook and it couldn't have been easier. They are delicious! I was worried about the actual cookie not being sweet enough, but that wasn't a problem at all. They taste just like the sandwich cookies that we buy at the bakery (and that my sister and I fight over!). I can't wait to make them again for Christmas next week since I just finished up the last one! These will definitely be added to my list of annual Christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These cookies were not the easiest to make - freezing fingers and very stiff to roll out the next day after a night in the 'frig. However, I had high hopes based on the reviews---and it had ice cream in it! They were good and everyone who ate them liked them; some loved them. To me they tasted like a flat, flaky biscuit with jelly on it. Thus, the four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Yummy, cook them at 300F for 45-60min. When I followed the temperature and time suggested here, they did not cook well inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Great taste but be conservative with your dough. You cannot use the scraps and reroll it out. Even after freezing it for 20 min. Maybe using a pizza cutter and cutting out squares so there is no waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
So yummy and easy. I wasn't sure about the dough before cooking, but the cookie turned out great. It is very buttery and flaky. I used homemade boysenberry jam and Trader Joe's pumpkin butter to fill the thumbprints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great recipe. I was a little worried when I finished the dough as it seemed very hard. In the morning I let dough sit out to soften a little before attempting to roll-out. I followed a reviewer's suggestion and rolled dough out on baking stones covered with wax paper. I cut out with glass and then just removed outer edges and didn't have to move cut cookie. Cookies shrink up so I could cut them close together and get a dozen on each cookie sheet. Didn't need any flour to roll out as long as I only rolled in one direction. I used a decorator tip to squirt jelly on cookie. I was able to get 4 1/2 dozen with one batch using an average size glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The funny thing about making this was that I followed everyone tips in making it a turnover and I really should have left it alone. The original directions were great other than the extra flour needed. They were a huge hit with my FIL. I did glaze some with sugar water, but you couldn't tell the difference between the ones I did and didn't so it wouldn't have matter. After I finally followed the original directions everything went smoothly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States