Ice Cream Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These looked really good when finished and the dough was really nice to work with, however they weren't sweet enough for my family. Tasted like flour with jam and powdered sugar. They did look like professional cookies. I have never tasted kolacky before so maybe this is just how they taste, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Lang Bruno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Agreed with all the reviews that said these "have no taste", "dough too sticky", etc. Floury, dry, and tasteless. We stopped baking them after the second sheet. The dough was workable after adding a bit more flour and refrigerating for a while. The cookies came out with slightly browned bottoms, a flaky, pastry-like interior, and no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Very messy and time consuming. Pretty cookies, but I'm not sure the effort and time are worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
My only complaint was the fact that it was messy! Putting your thumb in the middle really doesn't do much for making sure the jam doesn't go all over the place. If I could do 4 1/2 I would because that's not enough of a reason to keep me from making this again. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faythe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is nearly tasteless except for the preserves. I made this based on the positive reviews, but was very disappointed. What a waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
As others stated, this recipe needs about 1 more cup of flour, the dough was very sticky and could not be rolled out flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These cookies turned out fantastic! I used a homemade jam that my niece and I canned a few months ago. There's nothing like homemade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Good cookies but not as sweet as I would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
What a mess! I did what you were suppose to and the dough never formed a ball, very dry mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My favotires

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nanticoke, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Tasted floury to me. They were not a hit at the party either. My toddler won't even eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States