Ice Cream Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I'm sorry but I was not at all impressed with this recipe. The taste wasn't all that great and it was a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Decidedly unflavorful and dry. These were nothing like I expected and I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarinaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Just wasn't impressed with this recipe. Very rich, dense cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginahoward70

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mize, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
These were okay, but way more work than they were worth. The dough was so hard to mix, and after it chilled it was really hard to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Super popular. Really cold, wish I had my kitchenaid before Christmas when I made these! I tried them with some plum jam and some leftover cranberry sauce. The sauce was messy and not attractive (once the liquid cooked out) but tasted really good. I used up all my plum jam =( for this, but nobody else regretted that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and the dough did not turn out well, it was still like liquid the next day. So I just made drop cookies and put a little bit of jam in the middle and they still turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Hmm, unusual for sure and enjoyed them. Not sure if I would make them again. My dough was very stiff, and didn't give at all in the oven. The jam bubbled over. Not sure I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
pretty bland, but ok. maybe it's supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
People seem to either love these or hate these, and I did not care for them. There wasn't any real flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I had never heard of Kolacky but was very intrigued by the recipe. I or my family didn't care for these. It just tasted like pie dough with some jam on it. They do not keep well, becoming soggy in one day in a air tight container. They were best shortly after baking. I used regular vanilla ice cream, maybe would be better with a richer version. I didn't find any trouble mixing the dough but it never formed a smooth dough. I used my heavy duty Kitchen Aid with the dough hook. To those who like Kolacky I think it is an easy recipe, for those who think it is a butter cookie.... it is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States