Ice Cream Cake Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Missing ingredients!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I have made ice cream rolls before (mom's recipe) but had lost the recipe since last time I made it. So I looked online, saw they were mostly similar and chose this recipe. My mother's recipe didn't call to separate the eggs so was slightly skeptical. Read the reviews, saw it turned out decent for several folks, and since I'm no baking novice, gave it a try. I, like several other reviewers, found the batter to be next to impossible to mix after all dry ingredients are added. The egg whites whipped fine but "fold" is not the correct term for what you have to do to mix in with the "dough/crumbs" you have in the 1st bowl. Ended up using mixer to fully incorporate and still had lumps. Baked 10 min, edges were crusty. Don't cool over 5 min in pan or you won't get a good roll. Taste=decent, needs more cocoa. Texture is dense, as it should be. I would be inclined to say there is an ingredient (or 2) missing from recipe, except for the good results had by many of the other users. Oh well, gonna get my old favorite from my mom...must easier, no separating/beating egg whites...no crumbly mess and much better flavor. Thanks for the experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was my first attempt at a roll cake. It was absolutely DELICIOUS. The chocolate sauce is out of this world. My family wishes I would make this dessert a lot more often. Unfortunately, I still feel intimidated by a roll cake even though both of my two attempts have turned out great.The roll may not be perfect but the taste is 100% DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Sorry to be blunt but this was a waste of ingredients. The actual amounts may be good but the technique and directions resulted in a cookie dough type mixture that you had to fold egg whites in. Not the way a genoise is supposed to be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I guess I rolled the cake too tight because my dad asked me where the ice cream was! It was his birthday and he loves this cake, but it didn't turn out like I thought it would. Next time I make this I won't roll it so tight! I added more cocoa and it tasted pretty good. I never remember eating ice cream cake rolls with chocolate sauce, so I think that was too much. It made it too chocolatey for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herriman, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This cake rolls well but does not taste good. I think a good cake just needs some fat. Maybe not having any butter or oil is what makes it roll well without cracking but it also lacks flavor. I had fun rolling the cake and learning the technique but now I'll look for a new recipe that tastes good. The hot fudge is delicious! We used whole milk instead of the evaporated milk and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
ATTENTION chocolate lovers; I love unique and yet easy deserts so this was fun to make and tasted great but I doubled the cocoa powder and added 2 TBS of oil to make up for the liquid and give a moist, richer flavor. Yes I realized just by looking at the amount of liquid that it would be too clumpy to "fold" any whites in so I added the oil first to smooth it out and just beat the whites in with my beaters untill it was all smooth. Still turned out fluffy but with a nice chocolate flavor! You can simplify the fudge sauce for sweetened condensed milk and skip the sugar... makes it smoother and glossier... (you can microwave it 30 sec at a time to stir in between until evenly melted) For easy powdering I always keep some powdered sugar in a empty spice shaker and that way I can seal it from moister and its a no mess easy way to evenly shake your powdered sugar to touch up any simple dessert! I also recommend using a thin tea towel for any kind of cake roll. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roundhousecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Perkins, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I have made this twice now for my dad's birthday! He loves it and it is so easy to make. I followed the recipe almost exactly (I didn't have cake flour so I used regular all purpose organic flour.) It turns out perfect each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
My first attempt at this cake was a disaster. The cocoa/egg yolk/flour mixture was more like cookie dough and actually bent my spoon when i was stirring it. I had a tough time figuring out how to fold the whites into something i couldnt even stir! After i put it in the oven it baked alright but sadly i took it out too early and tried to flip/roll it and yeah it just didnt work. Attempt number two was much more successful and my cake was quite delicious. I filled it with mocha almond fudge ice cream. I did not make the chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Made it exactly like recipe and it was a huge hit. Want to make again and try different flavor ice cream. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States