Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I was a cake decorator for Baskin Robbins and this is exactly how they did it! The only thing I would add is a great frosting that is really yummy is plain old vanilla Ice cream. Freeze the cake overnight in your freezer and then take a quart of vanilla ice cream - mix it up in your mixer until it is a smooth frosting consistency and then frost your cake - put it back in the freezer for 4 hours or until frozen again and then decorate! You can even go to Baskin Robbins and ask to purchase a quart of their vanilla frosting ice cream - it is completely white with no yellow in it. HTH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This is not as easy as it sounds. I tried to make this for a birthday party and did everything it said, it made a terrible mess. I suggest bake the cake the day before let it cool and wrap in plastic wrap and freeze over night. Also cut the ice cream in half the day before to ensure it's frozen when it's time to put the cake together. Next time I'll be more prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
790 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I made this Saturday to have for desert with Sunday Dinner. With the container of ice cream I had, dividing it in half was going to waste alot more cake than I wanted to. So I split the ice cream into 3rds. It made a pretty good fit to a 13x9. I made a Milk Chocolate cake with Vanilla ice cream. Instead of frosting, I used "Magic Shell" in a kind of checkerboard design and sprinkled a few chopped pecan pieces on top. It looked wonderful and was sooo very easy. Everyone raved. Thanks for posting Monica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I made this recipe but used the circle pans and then frosted it with a cool whip/chocolate pudding/milk mixture that is Heavenly!! Large container of cool whip/large instant choc. pudding and 1 cup milk. Excellent and 5 star with the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra M.
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used 9 inch rounds with a slice from a bucket of icecream. They fit very well and it looked just like a giant ice cream sandwich! Then I frosted the cake using some of the remaining icecream, thanks to the first reviewer's great tip. This was for a boys birthday party so I decorated with swirls of magic shell and let all the boys squirt piles of blue frosting on top! One of the moms thought the cake looked professional, which is tribute to how easy, fun and fabulous this recipe is. (PS--I also substituted Ghidelli brownie mix for chocolate cake mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I cut the cake in half lengthwise and put the ice cream in between the layers. I used white cake with cookies and cream ice cream. So it was white cake on top, Cookies and Cream ice cream in the middle with real Oreos I crushed and added on top of ice cream,and Hershey Chocolate Syrup I added in on top of ice cream, and white cake on the bottom . Covered in whip cream and Magic Shell put on like a checker board.I also wrote Happy Sweetest Day with Magic Shell. It was good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is much easier to do if you have three 9 inch rounds. Line the bottom of one round with wax paper then fill with 1/2 gallon of ice cream (may need to let ice cream soften a bit first). Cover with saran wrap and put in the freezer. Bake your cake in the other two rounds. Let cool, remove from rounds, line rounds with wax paper and replace cakes, cover and freeze for at least one hour. Then make a big sandwich: cake, ice cream layer (which is easily flipped onto cake - perfect fit), cake. Wrap whole thing in saran wrap and store in freezer until ready to frost. I used the Cool Whip/milk/pudding mix frosting....which I thought was just ok. Next time will try the vanilla ice cream frosting. Put Magic Shell in a medicine dropper to decorate cake - worked GREAT! I put the cake on a flat plate, frosted it, and covered it with a cake dome and kept in the freezer until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This is the exact ice cream cake recipe that has been in our family for 50 years! I gave this a 4 star rating because it lacks a great frosting! My grandma made this same exact cake, but she used thawed Cool Whip plain, or flavored it with maraschino cherry juice mixed in for a frosting. Then she topped the cake with additional paper towel dried maraschino cherries. Wrap cake in waxed paper and freeze. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Ice Cream Cake is a family tradition on birthdays. This recipe showed me how I could just as easily make one as buy one. Used the Black Chocolate Cake recipe for the cake and made it in 2 round cake pans instead of a 9x13 which meant I had to slather the ice cream on by hand instead of using the square shape of the ice cream gallons. Made one with mint chocolate chip and the other with cookies and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Nothing wrong with how this tasted but it didn't turn out how I expected. Cutting the ice cream in half will only cover half the cake. If I ever try this again I would split it in fourths. This time I ended up cutting the cake in half and making a huge ice cream sandwich. I made a chocolate ganache for the top and sprinkled m&m's over the ice cream, yellow cake and birthday cake flavored ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States