Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Crin
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
this turned out better than i expected! its easy to make but the assembly requires some time (and cleanup!). i froze the cake overnight and it was easy to cut into layers the next day. i also softened the ice cream and spread it on the cake, instead of trying to cut it. i popped it back in the freezer and it was ready to eat in an hour. i can't wait to use this recipe again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Simple and delicious. I made this for my nephews birthday and everyone LOVED it. I used yellow cake & chocolate brownie ice cream. I put crushed oreos & chocolate syrup between the cake & ice cream. Frosted w/ buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Nothing wrong with how this tasted but it didn't turn out how I expected. Cutting the ice cream in half will only cover half the cake. If I ever try this again I would split it in fourths. This time I ended up cutting the cake in half and making a huge ice cream sandwich. I made a chocolate ganache for the top and sprinkled m&m's over the ice cream, yellow cake and birthday cake flavored ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Ice Cream Cake is a family tradition on birthdays. This recipe showed me how I could just as easily make one as buy one. Used the Black Chocolate Cake recipe for the cake and made it in 2 round cake pans instead of a 9x13 which meant I had to slather the ice cream on by hand instead of using the square shape of the ice cream gallons. Made one with mint chocolate chip and the other with cookies and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This is the exact ice cream cake recipe that has been in our family for 50 years! I gave this a 4 star rating because it lacks a great frosting! My grandma made this same exact cake, but she used thawed Cool Whip plain, or flavored it with maraschino cherry juice mixed in for a frosting. Then she topped the cake with additional paper towel dried maraschino cherries. Wrap cake in waxed paper and freeze. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra M.
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used 9 inch rounds with a slice from a bucket of icecream. They fit very well and it looked just like a giant ice cream sandwich! Then I frosted the cake using some of the remaining icecream, thanks to the first reviewer's great tip. This was for a boys birthday party so I decorated with swirls of magic shell and let all the boys squirt piles of blue frosting on top! One of the moms thought the cake looked professional, which is tribute to how easy, fun and fabulous this recipe is. (PS--I also substituted Ghidelli brownie mix for chocolate cake mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I cut the cake in half lengthwise and put the ice cream in between the layers. I used white cake with cookies and cream ice cream. So it was white cake on top, Cookies and Cream ice cream in the middle with real Oreos I crushed and added on top of ice cream,and Hershey Chocolate Syrup I added in on top of ice cream, and white cake on the bottom . Covered in whip cream and Magic Shell put on like a checker board.I also wrote Happy Sweetest Day with Magic Shell. It was good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This is not as easy as it sounds. I tried to make this for a birthday party and did everything it said, it made a terrible mess. I suggest bake the cake the day before let it cool and wrap in plastic wrap and freeze over night. Also cut the ice cream in half the day before to ensure it's frozen when it's time to put the cake together. Next time I'll be more prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
787 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Loved this cake! So easy and inexpensive compared to store bought! Used the magic shell & pecan idea from another reviewer. Also used canned whipped cream around the edges. Maybe next time, I'll put a layer of something between the cake & ice cream--fudge, sauce or cookies. Lots of possibilities!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I made this cake for my husbands birthday. I tried to use my new cake decorating skills and I think for the first try it turned out pretty good. I did have to put the cake in the freezer a few times to harden it during the process, but still very fun to make and my husband loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States