Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I added a jar of fudge ice cream topping in the layers and then made homemade fudge frosting for the top! Such a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
i love cooking, but i have to know something different, i don't want to use ovens for baking. i just want a cake that made me easy to make from my owned without using ovens, just a freezer instead so i try this and it made me very proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhudz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovecakes
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
It was easy and tasted great!!!!! A big hit with the family. This was saved me so much $$$. It was much cheaper than buying it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by summer
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
this was my first and probably my last ice cream cake. It was much more difficult to assemble than it says in the recipe. I used two eight inch cake pans the ice cream fits perfectly between and had problems with the top sliding. Had to secure it until it was completely frozen and then trim the sides to match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Pathetic how easy this recipe is; but takes a long time since you have to freeze the cake at every step. I had no mess like some and used the vanilla ice cream (IC) for icing as LAMRO said. I did not follow the time to freeze, but did this. Bought IC day before/put in the freezer to firm up well. Made cake in the morning, put in fridge until home from work. Removed cake and carton of IC, used IC (still in box) as a template to cut cake sides and quickly put IC back in freezer. Also, used a knife to cut the top off the cake to make it perfectly flat, then put cut cake in freezer so IC would not melt into cake when I put it on later. An hour later, took IC and cut in half with a knife and placed it on the cake;back in the freezer. (took a few seconds; NO MESS) An hour later, grabbed blender, threw vanilla ice cream in, then pulled cake from freezer, frosted top, then sides. Do quickly; IC melts in blender but when you put it on the frozen cake, it firms it up; quite easy to frost, just be quick. Put back in freezer. An hour later, made butter cream frosting for decorations, then removed cake to frost. Do quickly and put in freezer in between pauses/changing out tips, etc. $7 vs. a $35 Baskin Robins cake and it looks just like it/tastes great, but fun to make! Feeds 8-16 people depending if you use half or whole carton of IC. I used half/1layer of cake; seems to match Baskin Robins small size. I found it best to leave finished cake to set overnight. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
$4 Ice Cream Cake! This was so simple and inexpensive to make. It does take 2 days though. I bought yellow cake batter and used 3 --9 in cake pans. Bake 2--9 in. cakes according to directions, cool then freeze. Then in the 3rd cake pan take any ice cream you want and microwave it until soft, approx. 90 seconds. Once softened scoop the ice cream into the 3rd cake pan and freeze. The second day remove the cakes from the pans. Place one cake, flat side up, then place the ice cream in the middle and finish with the other cake on top and there you have it an ice cream cake! I used wax paper when i froze the cakes and ice cream. Finish the cake with frosting and refreeze if you are not going to use it right away. I will take it out 2 hours or so before the party! Enjoy. Thanks for the tips:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
this is truely a easy ice cream cake to make. I used peanut butter ice cream and chocolate cake,just to good for words. Hint...I put my ice cream in the 9 in cake pan lined in plastic wrap and let it freeze for 1 hour and then assembled the cake. I made a layed cake,it was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I found this cake to be delicious! I had made an ice cream cake before, but these directions seemed very thorough. I did have to read them a few times to understand them. It seems very important for me to bake the cake two days ahead of time. I baked 2 9" rounds. I cooled the cake and removed them from their pans then placed wax paper on the bottom side of the each cake and placed them back into their pans before I popped them into the freezer for a day. I did the wax paper, ice cream, cake, serving platter flip and placed back in freezer. When I pulled it out of the freezer(4 hours later), I frosted it with whipped cream then back into the freezer. I then decorated it with a boiled frosting because the whipped cream frosting would not keep its shape. I then of course popped it back in to the freezer! My guests could not believe this cake was made at home. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Whetstone
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I made a white cake w/vanilla ice cream & non dairy whipped topping. This is what my husband wanted for his birthday. I used one of the big round containers of ice cream and made 2 different size round cakes and cut the round top off of the larger cake so the ice cream slice would go on it level, the smaller cake matched the size of the ice cream perfect (just had to trim what melted after refreezing). This cake is by no means an easy task. I took the ice cream out of the container onto wax paper, cut it with dental floss and then wrapped it in the wax paper and put it in the freezer overnight, then I put it in between the two cakes and put it back in the freezer for a few hours. Took it back out of the freezer, trimmed the ice cream that had melted and froze. Frosted the cake, froze it a few more hours and then decorated it and froze it until time to serve. You have to work fast with this cake! Mine turned out a bit lopsided and wayyy too thick. Good first attempt though! If I did it again I would only use one cake and cut that in half (or make two much thinner cakes) and attempt to make the ice cream layer thinner. This was a good cake but the biggest complaint was that the cake was so frozen that it was hard to eat. Not sure what the solution to that is because if you don't freeze the cake it would surely melt the ice cream. :/ Gave my husband what he wanted for his birthday! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Whetstone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made a Gluten Free version using Life Beyond Wheat Chocolate Cake Mix and Vanilla Ice Cream. I frosted it with a can of whipping cream and decorated with crushed Kinnitoos GF oreos. FYI, I found the cake easy to cut after about 2hr cooling. I was even able to make 3 layers of ice cream by cutting the cake in half (using a thin cutting board to remove the top cake layer) and then cutting it again into more of a square shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States