Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
wasnt hard at all, loved it, but i did get a bit of a problem getting the icecream container, next time im buying chapmens bowed icecream works alot better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Good basic recipe. Had fun with it and also took another reviewers advice and made a choc pudding/whip cream/milk topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Made this cake today and was delicious!! I made mine in two 9 round cake pans with chocolate ice cream in the center. I have to thank the person who gave the review and told whipping vanilla ice cream like Baskin Robbins. OMG it was delicious I softened ice cream and the mix it in my Kitchen Aid and spread it over the cake just amazing. I never would have guessed you could do that. Thanks so much to the person who posted that sorry I forgot her name but it was just great. I will be making this cake for fathers day next week. I you can use any flavor ice cream. Everyone LOVED IT. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I had to use round pans but it still came out perfect. We had 3 birthdays in December and I made one for each one. Easy, delicious and way cheaper than the stores! I took another reviewer's advice and made frosting out of vanilla ice cream. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is not as easy as it looks! The recipe is not really thorough enough. It would be helpful to know that this cake needs to be frozen over night! It tasted fine but I made this cake for guests and used a box chocolate cake. I didn't have a 9x13 pan but I also wanted to layer the cake and ice cream so I used 2 loaf pans and spit the cake batter in 1/2. Then, I used a large slice of the ice cream to place between the cakes. THat part was great. THe ice cream was frozen fine but when I went to ice it about 2 hours later (after being in the freezer), the ice cream was mushy. I still managed to ice it ok thinking it would freeze solid soon, but, in another 2 hours when I cut into it, it was still mushy. The next morning, the remainer of the cake frozen perfectly. My freezer isn't abnormally warm or anything. So, the moral of this story is: make the cake a day ahead of time and freeze it overnight!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyBegins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I haven't made this as yet but, (duh) how much easier then the Newly Wed Cake I have been making for years, where you make cake in a jelly roll pan, put ice cream over it and roll it! I will make this from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keota, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Fun recipe to make for the kids. I use a cookie shaped silicone pan x2 to make my son's Ice Cream Cake for his birthday, since it's what he wanted. Having done that I'd do this again, in a heart beat. Simple, fun and you can use any form of cake and ice cream combo you soo desire. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made this cake with the help of other reviewers! I made only one cake part because I wanted it to be just like a Baskin Robbins cake. I did what ScoobieMama said and it worked great! I lined a 9 inch round cake pan with plastic wrap then added softened ice cream to the lined pan. I put it in the freezer overnight and it was VERY easy to remove. Then I made the boxed cake mix in the same 9 inch round pan. Let it cool in the fridge to make sure its totally cooled. Then I assembled the 2 pieces and frosted it with whipped topping. I covered it with a plastic cake dome and placed it back in the freezer til it was ready to serve, which was 3 days later! It was just like the cake I buy from Baskin Robbins, but it was 1/3 the price! I will always make my own ice-cream cakes from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I was a cake decorator for Baskin Robbins and this is exactly how they did it! The only thing I would add is a great frosting that is really yummy is plain old vanilla Ice cream. Freeze the cake overnight in your freezer and then take a quart of vanilla ice cream - mix it up in your mixer until it is a smooth frosting consistency and then frost your cake - put it back in the freezer for 4 hours or until frozen again and then decorate! You can even go to Baskin Robbins and ask to purchase a quart of their vanilla frosting ice cream - it is completely white with no yellow in it. HTH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made 2 nine inch round cakes. When removed from their pans to cool, I lined one of the cleaned cake pans with plastic wrap and filled it with the ice cream we were going to use with the cake. After letting it harden in the freezer, it was easy to remove from the pan with the plastic wrap. I assembled the perfectly shaped layers with no problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States