Ice Cream Base Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Easy and yummy. We made this last week and the base custard is outstanding! Instead of using regular half & half, I used non-fat half & half and added 2 cups of pureed peaches -- yummy peach ice cream! We're up for chocolate this week and I think I use 1 cup of non-fat milk, 2 cups of non-fat half & half as well as 1 cup of heavy cream. BTW, this recipe (8 servings) is 2 batches in the Cusinart ice cream machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is a delicious, classic ice cream. It's incredibly creamy - heavenly on a hot, steamy, summer day. I used a scant 1/2 cup of dark cocoa powder and it was the perfect chocolate ice cream. I plan on making this again very soon with strawberries and blackberries as both are going wild right now! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Wish I could give this recipe 4.5 stars since you probably don't need the full cup of sugar if you're going to stir in a sweet addition. I only used 3/4 cup sugar and added a 10 oz jar of chopped maraschino cherries and its syrup and thought the recipe came out really rich and nicely sweetened. I also added 1/3 cup slivered almonds for a cherry nut ice cream. It was yummy and I'll definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I used this to make mint chip ice cream. I increased the servings to 12 because I had 12 egg yolks left from an angel food cake. I added 1 tsp. peppermint extract and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. I added one cup of chocolate chips but it could use more. Everyone loved it. I've just started making ice cream this summer. This is the best recipe I've found - very creamy, smooth and versatile. Exactly what I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Perfect ice cream base, easy to make and very creamy with the perfect touch of sweetness. I recommend that the base be chilled overnight so that it cools down completely before putting it in the ice cream maker. As a result, it reaches the soft serve level in about 25 minutes! I highly recommend this recipe--perfect for novice and expert ice cream makers alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This had very good flavor. I didn't give it 5 stars because I changed it a bit - instead of 1 cup sugar, I used 1/2 cup sugar and a small box of vanill pudding. I also added a Tbsp of vanilla. It cooked up great - hardest part was not eating it as it cooled. Added some crushed oreos as it mixed in the ice cream maker. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
YUMMMM! Once you try this, store bought will never be the same. I made this exactly as specified and added 1 TBSP pure vanilla extract as suggested to make vanilla. It was my very first time making ice cream and it was a huge success if I do say so myself. This amount fit perfectly in a 2Qt. Cuisinart ice cream maker, and the final product all fits great in a 1.5 litre container. Thank you so much for posting, this is frozen dessert perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cannington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Made exactly as written, turned out great. Did not have an ice cream maker, used the plastic bag method and then froze for a day to have firm custard. Also added fresh black raspberry puree to a portion to get a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I haven't even frozen this yet, but I have to give it 5 stars. I was drawn to this recipe because of its simple solution to the problem with adding the egg to the warm cream. Other recipes intimidated me because of so many reviewers stating that they got little chunks of egg that they had to strain out. I really had no desire to deal with that. I'm not entirely confident that the egg yolks are thoroughly cooked, but I'm not one to be picky about that either. I did taste the warm mix before putting it in the fridge and it's fantastic! I flavored it with 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 2 tablespoons of instant coffee. It has a slightly strong coffee flavor, I would recommend just a tablespoon and a half for anyone new to the world of coffee ice cream. I plan to add Heath bars for the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is so good and very easy. I added some milk chocolate chips and about 1/2 cup cocoa powder. I can't wait to make it again with the flavors that I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States