Ice Cream Base Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I just made this Ice Cream Base and it was easy and looks very velvety-creamy! I will update when I decide if I'm adding a flavor/fruit. So far so good! I added fresh, macerated strawberries. I put finished product into a container and froze it. When I was ready to try it, I was surprised to find it was not too hard (like store bought) to scoop! It was perfect and creamy! The only adjustment I made was 1 Tablespoon of Pure Vanilla. I made this today again July 23, 2012 and made it vanilla with shaved dark and milk chocolate. I also put in 1/2 C. Corn syrup with the egg yolks and sugar n salt. It helped keep it creamier as it froze solid with no type of ice crystals. MMM very good! This is the best "base" recipe and will recommend this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandollar1970

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it was heaven. I like the custard best before freezing. But I did save some of the custard to make ice cream and added 1 1/2 ripe banana during the freezing process. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I swapped out the cream and half and half with coconut milk- just the cream from the top part of the can- I did 2 cups, 4 eggs, added 3/4 cocoa powder and additional sugar- I used a bit of the coconut water in the bottom of the can to liquify the eggs/cocoa more- despite all those tweaks- it turned out great! Oh and added a couple teaspoons vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
SO GOOD!!! And easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Perfect the first time using vanilla. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This is the BEST ice cream I have tried on allrecipes! It is smooth, creamy and the vanilla version tastes like creme brulee! Even before I froze it the consistency was like that of super rich vanilla pudding. In the freezer it doesn't freeze super solid but stays scoopable. This it the only recipe I will use for ice cream from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
It took a couple of tries to get it right, I think I was overcooking it & most of liquid was evaporating, but it is good if you have time & want really good creamy ice cream!! I prefer this over the refrigerate recipes any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
YUMMMM! Once you try this, store bought will never be the same. I made this exactly as specified and added 1 TBSP pure vanilla extract as suggested to make vanilla. It was my very first time making ice cream and it was a huge success if I do say so myself. This amount fit perfectly in a 2Qt. Cuisinart ice cream maker, and the final product all fits great in a 1.5 litre container. Thank you so much for posting, this is frozen dessert perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cannington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was my first time making homemade ice cream. I got an attachment to my kitchen-aid and I used this base. The end result was delicious but super filling. My family loved the ice cream. I put a table spoon of vanilla in and it tasted great. My only complaint was that it took a while for the mixture to thicken while I heated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Churns out smooth, luxurious and creamy every time, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States