Ice Cream Base Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by OJF
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I think it could have done with less sugar, maybe 3/4 or 4/5 of a cup, but it is a great simple base. I think next time I might do 2 parts each of heavy cream and half and half and add other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OJF
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Made this exactly as written. Very good recipe, as this was my first time making ice cream I was impressed at the ease of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This tastes YUMMY. I reduced my sugar to a little less than 3/4 cups, and I added: a little more than 1/4 cup honey, 2 tsp. cinnamon, and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. Kids approve!!! I would definitely recommend, while stirring the entire mixture for 5-8 minutes, that you also take a heat-resistant spatula and scrape it along the bottom corners of your pot, to avoid egg-iness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Delicious! Followed instructions exactly, with excellent results my first try. I often make little tweaks here & there to recipes. Not with this one--it's perfect & very easy! I've tried vanilla & banana. I will add more banana next time. My entire family raved about it & now they're all complaining, "who ate all the ice cream?!" I have a list of flavors to try. Btw I snuck tastes during the entire process, it's delicious at all stages. The flavor is fullest when going the full length of the recipe, however I doubt there would be any complaints eating it soft serve right out of the machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I combined this with another recipe and added 2 more cups of liquid. So I used 3 cups heavy cream and 3 cups milk. Increased the sugar to 1.5 cups. I then made kheer/kulfi ice cream. Added ground pistachios, rose water, saffron, ground cardamom to the custard. Added some chopped pistachios near the end of churning time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I did not chill the custard overnight like the recipe said. I chilled it for 4 hours. I had read similar recipes which only required 4 hrs. It turned out great. I will try chilling it overnight and see if there is a significant difference though. Makes 2 quarts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Blantz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I concur - this is a wonderful rich creamy ice cream. I added a vanilla bean to the half and half and cream mixture while it was cooking and let it steep about 30 additional minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great recipe. If you add cookies, make sure you add them at the end of the ice cream making cycle. The ice cream was a funny dirty color but the taste was still amazing! I will use this base recipe for all my ice cream recipes in the future!!Love it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Amazing my 1st time ever making ice cream it was great, next time I'll add vanilla I put 12 Oreos in the machine about 8 minutes before it was done because I forgot to add vanilla (although I'm sure it would have been fine) and WOW ***** I am making 2 batches this weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made this ice cream over the weekend, following the exact recipe with the noted addition of vanilla extract. This is a VERY rich ice cream. I'm giving this four stars instead of five because it is much too rich for my taste. I'll make it again and modify the recipe by replacing one of the cups of half and half with milk. If you are into extremely rich ice cream, don't modify at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States