Ice Cream Base Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I added a whole vanilla bean to the warm milk mixture. It was delicious! We made 2 batches, 1 with the plain vanilla and the other one we added fresh peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
A very good basic vanilla ice-cream. I was concerned about egg flavour so I only used 5 eggs yolks (also partly because I was also baking a white cake that called for 5 egg whites!) I had mistakenly purchased whole milk instead of half and half but it still had a creamy, custardy texture. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talldrink419

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Unanimous decision. We rated this the best ice cream we have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Awesome with blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
One tip for those making custard, cooked ice cream bases. Before you cook up the base, make sure you have a hand held strainer propped up on the bowl in which you are going to pour your cooked base. It prevents accidentally scrambled eggs from becoming part of your ice cream. This recipe is rich and delicious. Try adding a little banana extract...wowza!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Creamy! My favorite ice cream recipe now. I used 1/2 heavy cream and 1/2 half and half for extra creaminess. WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
My husband says we're never buying store-bought ice cream again! I think that's a pretty big compliment! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I never tried making ice cream before but have chickens and pheasants so have plenty of eggs. Use twice the amount of pheasant egg yolks since they are smaller. Added 2 teaspoons of vanilla and then used the "no machine" method. It worked great and tasted better. We started making it at about 1p in the afternoon and it was ready by 7p for dessert after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Okay, it's been just about two hours since I put this delicious bundle in the freezer and I just snuck a few bites. Wow!! This is the best ice cream I've ever made! This base is wonderful. I added butterscotch fudge and chocolate fudge pieces a few minutes before I was done mixing. (The clostest recipe I've found to mine is Aunt Teen's Fudge Recipe on this site... obviously, for the butterscotch, I just substitute the chocolate chips for 3C of butterscotch chips.) Admittedly, I added a lot and the concoction was nearly spilling out of my kitchenaid! :) But the small mess was oh so worth it!!!!! Thank you Autumn Pumpkin for posting this custard ice cream base! My tummy is SO happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States