Ice Cream Base Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I did not chill the custard overnight like the recipe said. I chilled it for 4 hours. I had read similar recipes which only required 4 hrs. It turned out great. I will try chilling it overnight and see if there is a significant difference though. Makes 2 quarts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Blantz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I concur - this is a wonderful rich creamy ice cream. I added a vanilla bean to the half and half and cream mixture while it was cooking and let it steep about 30 additional minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great recipe. If you add cookies, make sure you add them at the end of the ice cream making cycle. The ice cream was a funny dirty color but the taste was still amazing! I will use this base recipe for all my ice cream recipes in the future!!Love it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Amazing my 1st time ever making ice cream it was great, next time I'll add vanilla I put 12 Oreos in the machine about 8 minutes before it was done because I forgot to add vanilla (although I'm sure it would have been fine) and WOW ***** I am making 2 batches this weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made this ice cream over the weekend, following the exact recipe with the noted addition of vanilla extract. This is a VERY rich ice cream. I'm giving this four stars instead of five because it is much too rich for my taste. I'll make it again and modify the recipe by replacing one of the cups of half and half with milk. If you are into extremely rich ice cream, don't modify at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I added a whole vanilla bean to the warm milk mixture. It was delicious! We made 2 batches, 1 with the plain vanilla and the other one we added fresh peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
A very good basic vanilla ice-cream. I was concerned about egg flavour so I only used 5 eggs yolks (also partly because I was also baking a white cake that called for 5 egg whites!) I had mistakenly purchased whole milk instead of half and half but it still had a creamy, custardy texture. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talldrink419

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Unanimous decision. We rated this the best ice cream we have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Awesome with blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States