Ice Cream Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I'm way to lazy to make 'em...but love to go see Chef Lou and Westside Drive Inn in Boise for the ones they make. A wonderful Idaho treat from the land of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Okay, this is cute. I decided to try it out of curiosity. I didn't have a cocoa packet but I had a sugar free packet of Carnation instand breakfast in chocolate and 1/2 fat creamy vanilla ice cream. I thought it kind of resembled a baked potato. Obviously, a potato doesn't have a powdery substance on the outside though. I asked someone else what it was and they had no idea. I won't say what there one and only guess was. Either way, ice cream rolled in chocolate malted powder with whipped cream on top tastes pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Char
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I made this for my kids for an April Fools Day Dinner Fake Out. I scooped the ice cream onto plastic wrap. Rolled the plastic up to fit the ice cream and squished it to form the potato. I put a valley in the middle of the potato and froze it until hard. Unwrapped the plastic and rolled ice cream in a bowl of Hershey's cocoa and some cinnamon sugar. Melted a couple tablespoons of marshmallow fluff and a few drops yellow food coloring in the microwave and stirred it all together for the "butter". Filled in the potato valley with canned whipped cream and topped it with the melty marshmallow fluff. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Yummy! I also added a yellow starbust as a "pat o' butter"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Huge Hit! My son was genuinely fooled! Now he asks for this above anything else for dessert :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I did this for my kids for April Fool's Day. I told them, "This is your dinner, you need to eat it or you can't leave the table!" (Mom mean voice). They loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeybunny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
When I make this treat,I use cinnamon with a bit of sugar instead of the cocoa drink mix,and I make a slit and put green sprinkles for chives,a lemon drop for butter,with a couple of dollops of whipped cream as well as shaved chocolate bar for bacon bits. A friend freezes caramel candies and shreds them to use as the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
What a clever idea. My kids loved it. Super easy and tastey. I will certainly make these again. My kids thought that it was so funny to eat 'baked potato' for dessert. A kid pleasing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
A yellow Starburst also makes a nice pat of butter. Daughter loved this. I served on April Fools Day along with a rice cereal meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babbarrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
good recipe, i had it at a restaurant once and they put caramel on top as well, for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States