Ibby's Pumpkin Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! The savory and sweet mix is wonderful, and I get upset when my guests eat it all (no leftovers for me). It surprisingly freezes well. I have been recruited to make this for my friend's yearly Canadian Thanksgiving. I decided to change it up a little bit. I cut the fat by only using 2 tbsp of butter, and two cups of vegetable broth. Still tasted wonderful. I also couldn't find any tarragon at the store, so I substituted sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Once a month, we get together with my sister's family and have a cooking night with a theme. This most recent theme was pumpkin. This recipe intrigued me, so I just had to make it. I used Pumpkin Bread IV from this site. I made a few minor changes, all because it was what I had on hand or I couldn't find it in the store. I used white onion instead of red, white mushrooms instead of crimini, and used all dried herbs. I also added more chicken broth since my bread cubes were really hard. The dish was sweet and savory, definitely different, but very good. I would like to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This was great! I put it all in a pumpkin and baked for 1 hour. It was a great presentation and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Applegate, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
too sweet for stuffing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I am giving this five stars for a perfect mix of herbs for the project, but I will make one change next time. I will cut down on the sugar in my pumpkin bread recipe to accomodate this recipe. It was INCREDIBLY good, but I feel like it was just a little too sweet for the Christmas dinner that it accompanied. That was not the fault of this recipe-it had to do with my bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This stuffing is amazing. I'm eating leftovers for lunch again. I mixed together pumpkin bread batter and corn bread batter to make the bread, just because everyone was out of pumpkin bread, and it tasted awesome. I think it helped make it a little less sweet also, so that might help those who don't want it too sweet. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe is awesome, I make it every year for about 40 people and they all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very good stuffing! I used it in stuffed mushrooms, so left the mushrooms out of the recipe. It has a nice wild, sweet taste. I didn't find it too sweet, but it is certainly sweeter than a traditional stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I made mine with a blend of pumpkin bread and zucchini bread crumbs and it still came out great. The spices are just right to balance this recipe(I used dry spices, accordingly less- but will try with fresh next time). This is a tasty new spin on an old favorite, will be keeping this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I really liked this recipe. I didn't have any mushrooms so I used some craisins instead and it turned out great! It's a sweet and very flavorful stuffing. I think this is my new stuffing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States