Ibby's Grasshopper Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Very, very good. I used a pre-made chocolate crust to save on time. Next time, I would add a wee bit less of the creme de menthe. I used regular (brown) creme de coco b/c I didn't have white, and it was fine -- did not turn the pie brown, just intensified the green. I also bought chocolate covered/candy-shelled mints, chopped them up, and sprinkled them on the top. Yum! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This Recipe is Great! Some variations that I made: I used oreo cookies, chopped in a food processor for the crust. I also put them into muffin tins instead of making it a pie. I also topped each individual "pie" with chopped ande's mints. Hope you all enjoy this recipe as much as I did (and my coworkers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I made this a few days ago for my boyfriend because this one restaurant in town makes it and he loves it. Everything turned out alright, except I had a hard time getting the whipping cream to whip (sans electric mixer) so I went and bought some whipped cream and that worked fine. If you do that, I would probably suggest adding more than the 1 cup they have for the recipe. The 1/4 cup cream de menthe wasn't overly powering. On some pieces I could taste it more than others, but I'd stick with the 1/4 cup. Other than that, it turned out well! I also used a pre-made Oreo pie crust, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
I added a layer of mint chocolate chip ice cream to the top and sprinkled with broken andes mints. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Made the recipe exactly as originally written. The only thing I added: before freezing, I pushed whole Oreos into the top and made a pretty design. I just wanted to use the extra cookies left over from the crust...and I think it did a nice job of adding a bit more chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2000
This was absolutely delicious and so easy to make. You can even buy a chocolate graham cracker crust to make it even easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
My boyfriend and I didn't like this at all. It tasted very boozy, even medicinal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Excellent pie, like my aunt used to make for Thanksgiving every year. If the liquor taste is a bit strong, you can add the creme de menthe to the marshmallow/milk mixture as it heats to cook off a bit of the alcohol. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I used Godiva White Chocolate Liqueur in place of the clear creme de coca and it was yummy. I've only made this once so I can not conset to the difference but I'm sticking to the white chocolate liqueur where 4 Tbs. might even be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I used a premade Oreo crust for this recipe, which actually worked quite well and was easier than making one with wafers. I first attempted to make the filling using vegetarian marshmallows (without gelatin), but that was a disaster. After I melted them, they cooled into a bunch of gross little lumps. So I had to throw that batch away and go to the store and buy regular old jetpuffed marshmallows with gelatin. After I had that situation taken care of, it was easy and fun to make. I topped the pie off with chopped up Andes Candies and the end result was a nice, light, fluffy pie that nicely complemented the other food at the barbeque I attended. My only complaint is that the alcohol taste is pretty strong and apparent, so I'd like to tweak that part of it. Otherwise, it's a great recipe and just what I was searching for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States