Ibby's Grasshopper Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2000
This was absolutely delicious and so easy to make. You can even buy a chocolate graham cracker crust to make it even easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This is a great, easy recipe! What a wonderful treat for christmas, or any holiday. I put an andes mint on top in the center with red sugar lightly sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
I added a layer of mint chocolate chip ice cream to the top and sprinkled with broken andes mints. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I'm giving it 4 stars because my 17 year old daughter loved it, but I didn't care for this pie at all. First of all the crust didn't come out well, so if I ever made it again I would definitely purchase a ready made crust. I didn't think the taste was tremendously appealing either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
My boyfriend hates most desserts (yeah, he's nuts!), but he absolutely loved this one. It just mets in your mouth and it definitely has a kick from the creme de menthe. The only problem I had was finding chocolate wafers at my grocery store - so I used oreos, sans the creme. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This Recipe is Great! Some variations that I made: I used oreo cookies, chopped in a food processor for the crust. I also put them into muffin tins instead of making it a pie. I also topped each individual "pie" with chopped ande's mints. Hope you all enjoy this recipe as much as I did (and my coworkers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Very, very good. I used a pre-made chocolate crust to save on time. Next time, I would add a wee bit less of the creme de menthe. I used regular (brown) creme de coco b/c I didn't have white, and it was fine -- did not turn the pie brown, just intensified the green. I also bought chocolate covered/candy-shelled mints, chopped them up, and sprinkled them on the top. Yum! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I first tried it at a friend's Thanksgiving gathering and decided to try making it myself the following year. The first time, my pie didn't have the light fluffy texture, but then I learned that whisking the whipping cream by hand makes a huge difference from using an electronic mixer. Using a store-bought chocolate cookie crust works well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
My husband has been telling me for a couple of years about eating Grasshopper pies as a teen. I had a hard time finding a recipe. At last, this website led me to Ibby's Grasshopper pie. It is so simple to make and most important it was as my hasband remembered. I promise you will have people coming back for seconds and thirds. To decorate it, I did whip up some homemade whip cream and piped it all over the top and sprinkled with chocolate shavings. I also added some food coloring to give it the pale green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I wasn't sure this would turn out quite right, because I doubled the recipe to make a large rectangular version like my aunt used to make to Christmas. It didn't really turn out like her's, but it was still really delicious. We had this as a dessert for a "Lady's Night" with my co-workers. I had trouble folding in the whipped cream, but that was totally my fault...I've never folded before, and I used whipped topping and I think the marshmellow mix was still a little too hot. But, it all turned out, so I guess I can't complain. I also put Andes mints on the top in a checkerboard pattern for decoration. They matched perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States