Ibby's Grasshopper Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I used Godiva White Chocolate Liqueur in place of the clear creme de coca and it was yummy. I've only made this once so I can not conset to the difference but I'm sticking to the white chocolate liqueur where 4 Tbs. might even be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I made this a few days ago for my boyfriend because this one restaurant in town makes it and he loves it. Everything turned out alright, except I had a hard time getting the whipping cream to whip (sans electric mixer) so I went and bought some whipped cream and that worked fine. If you do that, I would probably suggest adding more than the 1 cup they have for the recipe. The 1/4 cup cream de menthe wasn't overly powering. On some pieces I could taste it more than others, but I'd stick with the 1/4 cup. Other than that, it turned out well! I also used a pre-made Oreo pie crust, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I used a premade Oreo crust for this recipe, which actually worked quite well and was easier than making one with wafers. I first attempted to make the filling using vegetarian marshmallows (without gelatin), but that was a disaster. After I melted them, they cooled into a bunch of gross little lumps. So I had to throw that batch away and go to the store and buy regular old jetpuffed marshmallows with gelatin. After I had that situation taken care of, it was easy and fun to make. I topped the pie off with chopped up Andes Candies and the end result was a nice, light, fluffy pie that nicely complemented the other food at the barbeque I attended. My only complaint is that the alcohol taste is pretty strong and apparent, so I'd like to tweak that part of it. Otherwise, it's a great recipe and just what I was searching for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I wasn't sure this would turn out quite right, because I doubled the recipe to make a large rectangular version like my aunt used to make to Christmas. It didn't really turn out like her's, but it was still really delicious. We had this as a dessert for a "Lady's Night" with my co-workers. I had trouble folding in the whipped cream, but that was totally my fault...I've never folded before, and I used whipped topping and I think the marshmellow mix was still a little too hot. But, it all turned out, so I guess I can't complain. I also put Andes mints on the top in a checkerboard pattern for decoration. They matched perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
My husband has been telling me for a couple of years about eating Grasshopper pies as a teen. I had a hard time finding a recipe. At last, this website led me to Ibby's Grasshopper pie. It is so simple to make and most important it was as my hasband remembered. I promise you will have people coming back for seconds and thirds. To decorate it, I did whip up some homemade whip cream and piped it all over the top and sprinkled with chocolate shavings. I also added some food coloring to give it the pale green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I first tried it at a friend's Thanksgiving gathering and decided to try making it myself the following year. The first time, my pie didn't have the light fluffy texture, but then I learned that whisking the whipping cream by hand makes a huge difference from using an electronic mixer. Using a store-bought chocolate cookie crust works well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Very, very good. I used a pre-made chocolate crust to save on time. Next time, I would add a wee bit less of the creme de menthe. I used regular (brown) creme de coco b/c I didn't have white, and it was fine -- did not turn the pie brown, just intensified the green. I also bought chocolate covered/candy-shelled mints, chopped them up, and sprinkled them on the top. Yum! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This Recipe is Great! Some variations that I made: I used oreo cookies, chopped in a food processor for the crust. I also put them into muffin tins instead of making it a pie. I also topped each individual "pie" with chopped ande's mints. Hope you all enjoy this recipe as much as I did (and my coworkers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
My boyfriend hates most desserts (yeah, he's nuts!), but he absolutely loved this one. It just mets in your mouth and it definitely has a kick from the creme de menthe. The only problem I had was finding chocolate wafers at my grocery store - so I used oreos, sans the creme. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I'm giving it 4 stars because my 17 year old daughter loved it, but I didn't care for this pie at all. First of all the crust didn't come out well, so if I ever made it again I would definitely purchase a ready made crust. I didn't think the taste was tremendously appealing either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States