I Love My Pear Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My family has also been making this for years, although without the nuts, and we've always called it "Green Monster", making it with the lime jello, of course. Our biggest trick, is to put the cream cheese and pears in the blender, and mix them there, then add the jello, blend again, and finally fold in the cool whip. That way you get a really nice smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This is pretty yummy! My sister in law made this recipe and brought it to a family dinner and everyone in the family has been asking for this jello every family dinner since! There are never left overs because it goes so quickly! Now, when we plan family dinners, someone asks, "So who is making the green jello?" It's light and creamy, like a dessert jello. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2000
I loved this pear salad, too, as did all my friends and family. What a great combination of flavors. I couldn't stop eating it! It will definitely be added to my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This is a great recipe although the picture of the green salad has absolutely nothing to do with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Have loved this recipe for years. Try it with lime jello and it is even better. Nice frosty green color. Marvelous taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I've been making this for a couple of years now and it's always a big hit with my family. The texture is so satisfying and the flavor is divine. Take this geletan salad to a party and watch it disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I've been making this recipe for years as well, one of the tricks is that you have to blend the cream cheese and pears for a very long time. It should be totally smooth. I have always used lime jello and I use dream whip instead of frozen whipped topping. It disappears quickly every timey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
People always LOVE this if they try it! It's not much to look at (I've had someone ask if it was a potato dish before... hello) ;) I've always used real whipping cream in my recipe vs. cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I have almost this same recipe but I use a quart of drained pears and only one cup of cool whip. I don't put nuts in mine. I use lime jello as it looks prettier that way. Sometimes I use two small packages of jello to give it more flavor. My family loves it! We all think it is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mead, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
delicious but I didn't blend the pears and cream cheese until smooth and it came out lumpy. Lumps of cream cheese is kind of gross. I'm giving this five stars because it was my fault for the lumps and aside from the lumps the taste was very good. I'm not sure what the trick is to make it smoother. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Graham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States