Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brittney Tun
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
A little extra cajun seasoning and these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney Tun

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Quick and easy. 5+ stars in my kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Very good recipe. I added a little Tony Cacheres seasoning to the mix to give them some spice and they were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
great recipe. The recipe is more family size than party size, which makes good for the weekday dinner. The hushpuppies are moist and very tasty. Definetly give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denisa Parsons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
These were so good! Added jalapenos and old bay and more Cajun seasoning. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
don't know what i did wrong with these but the batter was extremely runny so it made it hard to fry....other than that it tasted good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EHensley0283

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I just got done making these...we hoped they would turn out better. The batter was VERY runny and that made it hard to get the shape right so I suggest adding more flour. Also, they were really bland so we will add sugar to the batter next time if we make them again. Adding butter and sugar on top really helped and made them savory and sweet. Good luck making these! They turned out pretty good with a few adjustments. (we left out the celery)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
very bland.. you def should add some seasoning, I added seasoning salt, garlic powder, and black and red pepper to my second batch, as well as parsley for color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very good recipe, turned out great. I like sweet hush puppies so I added a little sugar. To the reviewer that thought the batter was too runny, add small equal parts of flour and corn meal until you get the right thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Eisenhower Leach
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This southerner approves! I use seasoning salt and garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. I also add 2Tbs of melted butter to the wet ingredients (plus a little extra corn meal). Rest of recipe is spot-on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Deep-Fried Stuffing

Here's a quick and easy way to use up leftover stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States