Hush Puppies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MAAHN
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Great recipe, they turned out fluffy and moist inside and crispy on the outside. Great flavor from the creamed corn. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAAHN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Made the recipe exact and LOVED THEM. They even freeze perfect for later. Will make them from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
absolutely terrible!!!!! tastes like a donut , not at all like hush puppies...calling my Grandma from the south to get her recipe. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I forgot to add the eggs and only had a short can of the corn. I added a little oil, milk and water to make up the added moisture needed. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Very tasty the recipe makes enough for 6 to 8 people. Could cut the recipe in half for 3 to 4 people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I made several modifications to this recipe. First I used a 6oz pack of cornbread mix and added enough self-rising flour to equal 2 cups total. I added 1/4 cup onions and 1 jalepeno to the mix. I then added some garlic powder, cumin and chili powder and then followed the recipe the rest of the way. It is very important to let this sit for at least the 10 minutes before cooking. The hushpuppies came out light and fluffy..YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These were really good. I would say they are more of "corn fritters" than "hush puppies". I followed the recipe exaclty and have no complaints about taste or texture. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
These get a fail from me. I expected great things but instead I got a poor reaction from family and friends. Even after adding another tsp of salt and a tsp of chili powder, which I'm sure is not authentic, mine turned out very bland. They were light and not greasy but not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great hush puppies. I had ran out of self rising flour, so I used 1 cup of bisquick and 1 cup of corn meal. They were very tasty. My husband who said he didn't like hush puppies even ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States