Hush Puppies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by mammak
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Awsome hushpuppies. I added some cornmeal to the mix so it would have the texture I remember them having. I added a smidge of old bay, salt & pepper. You could season these anyway you desire. Thanx for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dundalk, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
These are awesome! I just added 3 tsp of sugar to the dough. Very easy and sooooo yummy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
These were wonderful. I did use self rising cornmeal mix instead of the flour because that was what I had and it worked great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Delicious. Serve with lots of tartar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
The absolute best hushpuppies I have ever had and everyone that ate them with me said they are awesome. They are like beignet hushpuppies (new orleans).....so good and easy too believe it or not. I added a little bit of sugar....HOOTNANNY YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
great, very easy, my first time making these, I also want to know has any one tried to make this recipe substituting the corm for clams? and by the way if they are not sweet enough for your taste add a little sugar to the batter, I did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
It's not sweet enough for us. I find it a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
This recipe is great if made right! If you don't know what you're doing though it can come out doughy and greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Out of this world! I have never made hushpuppies before, and my husband has only made them from a box! They were soooo moist and to think you add creamed corn. The next weekend following, I made them again for my in-laws! They loved them just the same! We use a sweet onion, and add more than requested (to our taste). Thank you so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Was great! Instead of two cups of flour did 1 1/2 cups of flour and 1/2 cup of cornmeal was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States