Hush Puppies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I used tepid water (80f/27c) and let the batter rise 20 minutes before dropping in the fryer. Like I learned cooking at a fast food restaurant. No extras needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe leaving out the onions and added about 1/4 cup honey. Very tasty with halibut tempura.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I tried to half this recipe because we didn't need 2 dozen hush puppies but 1/2 an egg is just not possible (LOL!!) so I did everything half and left the 1 FULL egg in. It was still pretty goopy so I added about 3/4 cup flour to thicken it up. It looked goopy but when I added a ball to the oil... it came out AMAZING! It went really well with the topsail catfish we caught the day before! Best hush puppy recipe I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley Bri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
The first time I made this recipe, I had to add a lot of flour and cornmeal because it was very liquidy. We also thought they were a bit bland. The second time i made them I reduced the liquid and replaced the salt with creole seasoning, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
after i made these i tasted them and they were not that good they had bitter after taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Very wet. I had to add much more cornmeal to get the goop to form balls. Very bland flavor too. I wouldn't recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I thought that by following the reviewers advice of adding more self-rising cornmeal and flour would insure that these hush puppies would turn out reasonably well. I even used a thermometer to bring the oil to 365 degrees to insure success with this recipe. I studied other hush puppy recipes and found this recipe lacked sugar which is a staple for hush puppies and added 1/2 cup. With all the improvements and advice I took, the careful watching of oil temperature, these were a big flop. The oil temp. of 365 is way to hot producing burnt outsides and mushy insides, the batter with the addition of 3/4 cup of additional flour and 3/4 cup of additional cornmeal still was not enough. If that wasn't enough, the taste was just plain. I can typically doctor up a iffy recipe with success but these were a waste of time, ingredients and just stunk up the house with that oily smell. I'm sad to give such a bad review when I had such high hopes of hush puppy success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very delicious and light!! Best served with catfish or king fish with a side of cold cole-slaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Did not have the taste or texture of hush puppies. It was ok but it wasn't hush puppies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I made these for American Night here at my German university and they were a hit. We had some trouble thickening the batter, but other than that they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States