Husband's Grandmother's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Wow! This was nothing short of amazing! I did have to tweak it slightly because I am allergic to beef/pork. I used smoked turkey and chopped it up in place of the bacon and I used Butterball Everyday turkey link sausage. This was my first real gumbo and I WILL be making this many times more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I have made gumbo twice, both with a roux (browned flour) and I just don't like the taste of roux. This recipe calls for 2/3 cups of flour and 1/2 cup butter, and although the I achieved the great appearance of the gumbo dish, the base tasted like the browned flour. I would try this again, maybe in another month since this is an expensive and labor intensive dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
the best! amazing flavor, although I don't put okra in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felecia1331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sterling, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this for New Years Day and it was wonderful. This was my first time making Gumbo and Roux for that matter. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Wow this is really good! I'm not much of a cook, but I followed the directions accordingly and it's delicious. I forgot to buy a green pepper, but I had fresh mushrooms, so I threw them in. Also added another can of spicey (Rotelle) tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I wanted to make something nice and special on Fat Tuesday, so I decided to try this. I followed it exactly, and everyone in my family loved it! Had some leftover, and I enjoyed it just as much second time around! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grobiegirl1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Nothing special with this one. Had to add tons of salt and other seasoning to bring it up to speed. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becsuehen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Bacon in gumbo now??!! We loved it lol!! Served this over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I made this for Father's Day. It was time consuming but well worth the effort. It wasn't hard just a lot steps. Everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. I'll make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ruskin, Florida, USA
Living In: Apollo Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was fabulous! I made it last night exactly by the recipe, and it turned out great! We served it over rice with crusty french bread, and it made a hearty meal. Anyone planning to make it needs, to set aside several hours, but it's WELL worth it. My only advice is to wear comfortable shoes because you'll be stirring the roux for a looooong time. Stir it until you think nothing's going to happen, then stir it a while longer, and it will be ready. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States