Husband's Grandmother's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I loved this recipe! I only used half the amount of water because I like it thicker and I didnt spend as long on my roux, about 15 minutes but still was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Wow! This was nothing short of amazing! I did have to tweak it slightly because I am allergic to beef/pork. I used smoked turkey and chopped it up in place of the bacon and I used Butterball Everyday turkey link sausage. This was my first real gumbo and I WILL be making this many times more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I have made gumbo twice, both with a roux (browned flour) and I just don't like the taste of roux. This recipe calls for 2/3 cups of flour and 1/2 cup butter, and although the I achieved the great appearance of the gumbo dish, the base tasted like the browned flour. I would try this again, maybe in another month since this is an expensive and labor intensive dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
the best! amazing flavor, although I don't put okra in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felecia1331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sterling, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this for New Years Day and it was wonderful. This was my first time making Gumbo and Roux for that matter. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Wow this is really good! I'm not much of a cook, but I followed the directions accordingly and it's delicious. I forgot to buy a green pepper, but I had fresh mushrooms, so I threw them in. Also added another can of spicey (Rotelle) tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I wanted to make something nice and special on Fat Tuesday, so I decided to try this. I followed it exactly, and everyone in my family loved it! Had some leftover, and I enjoyed it just as much second time around! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grobiegirl1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Nothing special with this one. Had to add tons of salt and other seasoning to bring it up to speed. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becsuehen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Bacon in gumbo now??!! We loved it lol!! Served this over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I made this for Father's Day. It was time consuming but well worth the effort. It wasn't hard just a lot steps. Everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. I'll make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ruskin, Florida, USA
Living In: Apollo Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States