Husband's Grandmother's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I added bacon, grilled chicken, and one bottle of beer (substitute for same volumn of liquid). Very Yummy over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
20 mins. into stirring the roux, I was questioning if it was worth the effort....the answer is yes (it took 45 mins and only got a dark caramel color). The broth was outstanding. I skipped the okra and used smoked turkey sausage. I did not like it over rice b/c I felt the broth (best part) got lost. Just serve in a bowl with good bread on the side for soaking. Even my very picky family liked it and they'er like Mikey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I loved this recipe! I only used half the amount of water because I like it thicker and I didnt spend as long on my roux, about 15 minutes but still was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Wow! This was nothing short of amazing! I did have to tweak it slightly because I am allergic to beef/pork. I used smoked turkey and chopped it up in place of the bacon and I used Butterball Everyday turkey link sausage. This was my first real gumbo and I WILL be making this many times more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I have made gumbo twice, both with a roux (browned flour) and I just don't like the taste of roux. This recipe calls for 2/3 cups of flour and 1/2 cup butter, and although the I achieved the great appearance of the gumbo dish, the base tasted like the browned flour. I would try this again, maybe in another month since this is an expensive and labor intensive dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
the best! amazing flavor, although I don't put okra in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felecia1331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sterling, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this for New Years Day and it was wonderful. This was my first time making Gumbo and Roux for that matter. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Wow this is really good! I'm not much of a cook, but I followed the directions accordingly and it's delicious. I forgot to buy a green pepper, but I had fresh mushrooms, so I threw them in. Also added another can of spicey (Rotelle) tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I wanted to make something nice and special on Fat Tuesday, so I decided to try this. I followed it exactly, and everyone in my family loved it! Had some leftover, and I enjoyed it just as much second time around! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grobiegirl1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Nothing special with this one. Had to add tons of salt and other seasoning to bring it up to speed. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becsuehen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States