Hurry-Up Ham Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I added mushrooms, garlic and peas to make it more of a one dish meal. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Gotta say this was a spectacular dish and boy was it a great big hit at supper. My daughter said it went to the top of her favorite list. Easy to make and I followed the directions to a T. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I added mushrooms and peas like a lot of others. I only give it 3 stars because my husband didnt care for it much at all. I on the other hand, pretty much loved it. I'm just a carbonara lover in general though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Steelville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This recipe was unbelievably DELICIOUS. My 5 and 3 year old even raved over it. As advertised, it will be making regular appearances at my table now. I was unsure about the use of egg yolk in this recipe and was tempted to try other recipes to avoid it. Let me assure you - do it. I brought the liquid to a simmer, took the skillet off the fire and stirred vigorously when I added the yolks to ensure they wouldn't scramble. Additions/Substitutions: -I sauteed sliced brown mushrooms and garlic with the onion. The mushrooms really made the dish. -I added rinsed/thawed frozen green peas with the ham. -I substituted grated Parmesano/Romano for the regular Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Wow! My family went crazy for this! Didn't add the onion or parsley and forgot the margarine and was still super delicious! Quick, easy, and terrific way to use leftover Easter ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
OMG! College girl on a budget here, this is the best pasta dish I have had this year! Beats Macaroni Grill and Olive Garden for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This recipe was really quick and easy. I also used olive oil and added a fresh clove of garlic. In addition I added a cup of small pieces of fresh broccoli while I was sauteing and a small can of mushrooms. I only had chicken bouillon so I used that and it worked. I also added a 1/2 cup of heavy cream just because I had it on hand. It did make it a little more creamy but either way would have been great. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Pretty tasty and definitely easy to make in a hurry. I also replaced the veg oil with olive oil and added 3 cloves of garlic, and diced up some mushrooms. The only thing I didn't like was that it seemed too greasy. Next time I'll cut back on the oil and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Skorka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I used butter instead of margarine, one egg instead of 2 egg whites; added garlic, mushrooms, and peas. I also realized that I didn't have enough ham leftover so I cooked 5 slices of bacon and used 1 T of the grease instead of oil. I really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This was quick and simple to make. I cut back on the oil a bit. I did add frozen peas and sliced mushrooms to this dish. I added about one Tablespoon of chicken stock to the egg yolks before adding them to the pasta. This helped to incorporate them without cooking them too quickly. Very tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States