Hurricane's Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made this tonight and my husband told me to add it to my favorite recipes and to make it often. To be honest he loved it more than I did, to me it was ok it didn't have the wow factor, but hey its not that difficult to make and if it pleased the hubby I will make it often. I think it needs maybe some small apple chunks added to the stuffing or the chicken mixture that might round out the flavor. I did however saute a small onion and chopped carrots and one clove garlic in a bit of olive oil and added to the soups (lowfat) and chicken along with some green beans, no peas and no french onion. This might be a perfect dish to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This wasn't awesome, but it was a pretty good, comfort-food kind of dish. I made it almost exactly as written, using Stove Top "savory herbs" stuffing. My amounts of chicken were slightly less, and carrots slightly more (2 x 8.25 oz. cans), than the recipe specified. I noted that even a baking time of 20 minutes didn't suffice to heat the dish properly, so the "until heated through" definitely applied in my case. This was kind of like chicken-pot-pie filling on a bed of stuffing. Thank goodness the stuffing was pretty savory, otherwise the dish would've been a bit bland; in fact, I thought the peas and carrots could've used some kind of seasoning. But this was definitely worth making, and I enjoyed it for three dinners in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Followed directions. Found it only o.k. to my liking. Probably won't make again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a family favorite. I did change it up a bit to reflect my own personal tastes. Instead of the peas and carrots, I used the frozen broccoli, cauliflower, carrot mix in the freezer aisle. I also added cheese to it before the french fried onions. My husband hates casseroles in general, but he'll eat this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This was AWESOME! My husband HATES chicken and asked for this again!!! I did modify it a tiny bit. I added half an onion (diced) and 2 garlic cloves (diced) and substituted cream of mushroom for the cream of celery. Thank you so much for this fantastic recipe! I think it's become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traskwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
With a few changes this was a winner. I saute'd 1/2 sweet onion and 1 stalk of celery and added to the stuffing after it was cooked. I used fresh asparagus, cut in 1" pieces instead of the canned peas (yuck!). I distributed the pieces over the stuffing in the dish. Instead of canned carrots, I used canned baby corn on the cob, but won't use them again. I used 16oz of leftover rotisserie chicken, cubed. And, I seasoned the soup mixture with pepper. The asparagus came out al dente, adding a nice texture to an otherwise "mushy" dish. We'll definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I have made this a few times with no changes and my family loves it every time. Nice and easy too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Great casserole, and very versatile. I make this about once a month and love it because I can just toss in whatever veggies I have on hand. Yummy tasting, and it smells so good in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This was a BIG hit! Everybody loved it and went back for seconds. We followed the recipe just as stated, and it came out perfect. Very quick and easy-thank you so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANDO6116

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was pretty good, not the best chicken casserole I have had, but we liked it. It was a nice variation of a chicken pot pie, and I love the French onions on top!!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States