Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was very good! I took it to work and it was gone in a flash. The only change i made was i toasted the coconut and the pecans before adding them to the bottom of the pan. i think i had trouble w/the cream cheese element of this recipe, though. After melting the margarine, cream cheese, and adding the powdered suger, i ended up with more of a thin sauce, making it difficult to "spoon randomly over cake batter", since it ended up covering the entire thing, anyway. In spite of my question about the cream cheese "sauce", it was delish, and i'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made this cake for a social event and was a big hit; will definitely make it again. Also, did not have the sticking problem with butter/pecans/coconut mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
The only change I made was omitting the butter in the bottom of the pan--I just 'pammed' the bottom and there was no sticking. I received many compliments and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I had put in a search for the exact ingrediants for this cake and saw this recipe pop up and thought I would give it a try. It came out of the oven and I let it cool and couldnt resist trying a little nibble and WOW! This is very tasty, full of flavor but not overpowering. I did what chubbs suggested and turned it out onto a cake board and it makes a great looking cake on the underside. Thanks for this recipe, this one is going to be made alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
My husband isn't a big cake lover, but this cake went over GREAT! Just a good all around recipe to even take to someone as a "happy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
OMG - this is one of the best cakes I've had in a long time. It's absolutely awesome and easy to make. Everyone wanted the recipe. I love cakes that don't need icing or toppings. Try this - you won't be sorry. I do think the earthquake cake title fits this much better do to the finished appearance. I did use the low fat cream cheese. Well heck - it saved a few calories anyways lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Photo by LIZZY9VOLT
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wow this was actually really good! I was just looking to use up a german chocolate cake mix I had sitting in my cupboard and based on the reviews I decided to make this as a treat for work. It looked really cool when it was done baking, literally like an earthquake broke up a desert or something. And the taste of the cream cheese mixture was really good! Much more like candy and less like cheesecake but still SUPER good. This would be a lot of fun to make for school aged kids when they learn about earthquakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by chubss
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Excellent! I recommend turning it out of the pan. The coconut and pecans make a great "topping". Very good, and I agree that it is better the next day! Thank you. This is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was superb...I used a regular choc. cake mix and made it into a pudding cake (4 eggs, oil , instant pudding, etc) I also added my usual 2 dollops of mayo to retain moisture, as well as 2 tbps of hersheys syrup. I then used 9 in round pans with parchment paper lining. Really easy to remove. I inverted it and peeled off the paper in one easy piece. It looked so pretty too! one more thing, i poured a quarter of the cake batter in each pan, then half the cream cheese mixture and then the rest of the cake batter. Just so it would be more even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was AWESOME! First time I made it was for my friend's BDay who loves coconut & chocolate and it was a BIG hit; even her hubby had two giant helpings and he's really picky! Since then I've made several more times and it was requested again for her BDay this year. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States