Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Fantastic. For extra yumminess top with german chocolate frosting (from scratch)...oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This is my all time favorite cake now! My dad who hates coconut even loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clear Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
delicious, but definitely a diet buster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I used Pam so the cake wouldn't stick and 1/4 cup of margarine & 1/4 cup of Pilsbury Coconut Pecan frosting instead of a whole 1/2 cup of margarine. The recipe doesn't specify if the coconut is sweetened/unsweetened, but I had unsweetened on hand so I added the frosting for good measure and 1/2 cup of margarine seemed like too much for that first layer I also sprinkled some of the nuts on the cake mixture before adding the cream cheese mixture and I put a little coconut in the cream cheese mixture too...but anyway too many words, I took this to work today for a potluck/chili cookoff and people loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very good cake. Easy to make and good flavors. I cut the butter on the bottom of the pan and cut back on some of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I skipped adding the butter on the bottom of the pan. Instead I sprayed the pan with Pam for baking. I didn't have any trouble with it sticking. You can always put down parchment paper and that would help the sticking, but I would also spray that. Most of my cream cheese sunk to the bottom so it was a layer of the pecans and coconut and then the cream cheese then the cake. It was very good and my husband ate most of it and he is not a cake person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I'm a little bit confused about this recipe. I'm not sure if its supposed to be as greasy and wet as it turned out- thanks to the margarine on the bottom of the pan... I used less than the .5 cup the recipe called for and I found that serving it seemed sloppy from all the margarine... I baked it for 45 minutes because it was just so jiggly after 35-40 minutes... and I baked them for another 25 minutes after we had a piece because it was so "moist" it didn't seem fully baked... but... even after another 25 minutes in the oven, it is the exact same. It tastes alright, but I wont be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allpurpose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This cake was really good! It reminds me of a giant black bottom cupcake/german chocolate cake all rolled into one. Yum! I made it for some friends last night and they all loved it...even went for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is really good. Thks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
very easy and tasty but sweeeet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States