Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
It tastes great but it's loaded with calories from fat and sugar. To help relieve at least a little of this problem I only used 1 cup of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
The cake is great, very moist. I reduced the icing sugar to 2 cups and melted he mixture just enough to pour over the cake. I'm going to double the cream cheese mixture for a quick and easy cheese cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I tried this cake because I love german chocolate cake and cheesecake, and I didnt regret it.. the whole family loved this. For some reason this cake taste better the next day after you make it but good luck trying to keep that long. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Larez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very moist and good. Sprayed pan with cooking spray and worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeechobee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Loved, loved this cake!! It was a hit at our dinner party! The only thing I did was as some suggested, I omitted the butter in the bottom of the pan and sprayed pam instead. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Huge hit at my husband's office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This cake is amazing! It's easy to make and easy to commit to memory! I have made this many times! I reduced the butter using only 1/4 a cup for each step and it turned out just as good, just with less cracking. Everyone loves this and I mist add that many people have told me that they really like this cake even though they usually hate coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
My guests nor I cared much for this cake, it was a huge disappointment. I followed the recipe exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Really delicious. Everybody loved it at the party I took it too. Used parchment paper as one reviewer suggested and inverted cake onto serving dish. It stuck just a little at the corners but not too badly. Also sprinkled chocolate chips on bottom of pan with the coconut and pecans. Used 1/4 c of margarine instead of 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Do not swirl the cream cheese mixture into the cake mixture. It will just sink to the bottom and create a candy like mixture that is hard to remove from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States