Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I only used 2 tbsp of butter for the bottom, instead of the 1/2 cup. My cream cheese portion really sunk deep into the cake (I was expecting it to look like the first picture)...BUT the taste was outstanding. My mother, who's birthday this cake was for was in hog heaven, and we had no leftovers at all. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
The cake was okay straight out of the oven warm, but absolutely delicious the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Fantastic and so easy! Also good with chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLEE01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I made this for dessert tonight and it was great. I followed the recipe exactly and the topping sort of sunk to the bottom of the pan but it was delicious. I did find that I had to bake it a little longer but it came out very well. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Amazing Recipe! Very easy, very moist and a fun dessert to make as well. After I made it I was concerned that it didn't come out right b/c it didn't look all that pretty and I didn't have coconut so I had to use mini chocolate chips. It was wonderful...I'm sure it's even better with the right ingredients, but next time I think I'll buy coconut but use the chocolate chips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASEYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I baked this yesterday and turned out soooo good. I did not have coconuts and pecans so instead I used raisins and walnuts. I brought it to work and they all LOVED IT. My husband just told me that everyone at his office went crazy for it. Thank you for this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Thank you thank you thank you for this delicious recipe! I'm not a beginner cook, nor am I an expert, but this recipe is fantastic! I followed it exactly, (I excluded coconut, no one I know likes it 'cept me... )= and used butter instead of margarine and replaced it with chocolate chips! Yum!) and it turned out perfect! I also added ganache to make it rich, and my mother loved it! (Made it yesterday for today) So in conclusion, this recipe was beautifully done, so thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeggieGirl
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Delicious Cake! The reason I did not give this recipe 5 stars is because I had to change a couple of things. I did not add butter to the pan, I simply greased it and I did not melt the cream cheese mixture in a saucepan, I just softened it before mixing with an electric mixer. The cake came out perfect and the top looked like an earthquake. THIS IS AN EARTHQUAKE CAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Not the prettiest cake ever, but deffinatly one of the most tasty. a lot like a german chocolate, but much better awsome with coffee. Simple easy to make and anyone that like chocolate will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
VERY GOOD!! I made this for guests and everyone LOVED it! I was surprised that the cream cheese mixture sank more than some of the other pictures showed and than I expected. I made it exactly as the recipe said and it was perfect. (3 3/4 cup is the 1lb box of powdered sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States