Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I'm a little bit confused about this recipe. I'm not sure if its supposed to be as greasy and wet as it turned out- thanks to the margarine on the bottom of the pan... I used less than the .5 cup the recipe called for and I found that serving it seemed sloppy from all the margarine... I baked it for 45 minutes because it was just so jiggly after 35-40 minutes... and I baked them for another 25 minutes after we had a piece because it was so "moist" it didn't seem fully baked... but... even after another 25 minutes in the oven, it is the exact same. It tastes alright, but I wont be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allpurpose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This cake was really good! It reminds me of a giant black bottom cupcake/german chocolate cake all rolled into one. Yum! I made it for some friends last night and they all loved it...even went for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is really good. Thks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
very easy and tasty but sweeeet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I have made this cake for years, and it is a great cake. My version is different though.I use the pecans, and bag of frozen coconut, and no marg. on bottom.Just spray bottom and sides with butter spray. Pour cake batter over that. Melt 1 stick butter, 8oz. cream cheese and 1 box powder sugar.When I put this on top of cake,I let it pour out, like in heavy spurts(don't know how to explain)all around. This way mixture goes to the bottom, and it firms the bottom up when it cools,like having the german chocolate frosting on bottom.I have always made it in a 13x9. Even without the butter on bottom, I've never had problems with it falling apart or sticking.I'm sure is wonderful the way it is here also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasibee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
DELICIOUS! Make a day ahead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was delicious...very chocolatey. I used wax paper on bottom of the pan and turned it out when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was very good! I took it to work and it was gone in a flash. The only change i made was i toasted the coconut and the pecans before adding them to the bottom of the pan. i think i had trouble w/the cream cheese element of this recipe, though. After melting the margarine, cream cheese, and adding the powdered suger, i ended up with more of a thin sauce, making it difficult to "spoon randomly over cake batter", since it ended up covering the entire thing, anyway. In spite of my question about the cream cheese "sauce", it was delish, and i'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made this cake for a social event and was a big hit; will definitely make it again. Also, did not have the sticking problem with butter/pecans/coconut mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
The only change I made was omitting the butter in the bottom of the pan--I just 'pammed' the bottom and there was no sticking. I received many compliments and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States