Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I have made this cake for years, and it is a great cake. My version is different though.I use the pecans, and bag of frozen coconut, and no marg. on bottom.Just spray bottom and sides with butter spray. Pour cake batter over that. Melt 1 stick butter, 8oz. cream cheese and 1 box powder sugar.When I put this on top of cake,I let it pour out, like in heavy spurts(don't know how to explain)all around. This way mixture goes to the bottom, and it firms the bottom up when it cools,like having the german chocolate frosting on bottom.I have always made it in a 13x9. Even without the butter on bottom, I've never had problems with it falling apart or sticking.I'm sure is wonderful the way it is here also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasibee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
DELICIOUS! Make a day ahead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was delicious...very chocolatey. I used wax paper on bottom of the pan and turned it out when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was very good! I took it to work and it was gone in a flash. The only change i made was i toasted the coconut and the pecans before adding them to the bottom of the pan. i think i had trouble w/the cream cheese element of this recipe, though. After melting the margarine, cream cheese, and adding the powdered suger, i ended up with more of a thin sauce, making it difficult to "spoon randomly over cake batter", since it ended up covering the entire thing, anyway. In spite of my question about the cream cheese "sauce", it was delish, and i'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made this cake for a social event and was a big hit; will definitely make it again. Also, did not have the sticking problem with butter/pecans/coconut mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
The only change I made was omitting the butter in the bottom of the pan--I just 'pammed' the bottom and there was no sticking. I received many compliments and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I had put in a search for the exact ingrediants for this cake and saw this recipe pop up and thought I would give it a try. It came out of the oven and I let it cool and couldnt resist trying a little nibble and WOW! This is very tasty, full of flavor but not overpowering. I did what chubbs suggested and turned it out onto a cake board and it makes a great looking cake on the underside. Thanks for this recipe, this one is going to be made alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
My husband isn't a big cake lover, but this cake went over GREAT! Just a good all around recipe to even take to someone as a "happy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
OMG - this is one of the best cakes I've had in a long time. It's absolutely awesome and easy to make. Everyone wanted the recipe. I love cakes that don't need icing or toppings. Try this - you won't be sorry. I do think the earthquake cake title fits this much better do to the finished appearance. I did use the low fat cream cheese. Well heck - it saved a few calories anyways lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Photo by LIZZY9VOLT
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wow this was actually really good! I was just looking to use up a german chocolate cake mix I had sitting in my cupboard and based on the reviews I decided to make this as a treat for work. It looked really cool when it was done baking, literally like an earthquake broke up a desert or something. And the taste of the cream cheese mixture was really good! Much more like candy and less like cheesecake but still SUPER good. This would be a lot of fun to make for school aged kids when they learn about earthquakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States