Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This cake is delicious! Its even more yummier if you leave it to refrigerate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Delicious and rich, a huge hit at a recent bbq with friends. Used a general box chocolate cake but it worked fine. Great recipe, many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
First cake I decided to make on my own..Absolutely Delliicious!! Baked for 4th of July and one other time..Family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This cake is really good, I would have given it 5 stars but I could not bring myself to making the cake exactly as it ( I mean using 3 3/4 cups of confectioners sugar) so instead I used 2 cups and that was plenty!!! Nevertheless this recipe is a keeper!!! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yanireth
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Fantastic. For extra yumminess top with german chocolate frosting (from scratch)...oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This is my all time favorite cake now! My dad who hates coconut even loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clear Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
delicious, but definitely a diet buster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I used Pam so the cake wouldn't stick and 1/4 cup of margarine & 1/4 cup of Pilsbury Coconut Pecan frosting instead of a whole 1/2 cup of margarine. The recipe doesn't specify if the coconut is sweetened/unsweetened, but I had unsweetened on hand so I added the frosting for good measure and 1/2 cup of margarine seemed like too much for that first layer I also sprinkled some of the nuts on the cake mixture before adding the cream cheese mixture and I put a little coconut in the cream cheese mixture too...but anyway too many words, I took this to work today for a potluck/chili cookoff and people loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very good cake. Easy to make and good flavors. I cut the butter on the bottom of the pan and cut back on some of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I skipped adding the butter on the bottom of the pan. Instead I sprayed the pan with Pam for baking. I didn't have any trouble with it sticking. You can always put down parchment paper and that would help the sticking, but I would also spray that. Most of my cream cheese sunk to the bottom so it was a layer of the pecans and coconut and then the cream cheese then the cake. It was very good and my husband ate most of it and he is not a cake person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States