Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I love this cake and had been planning on baking it all week. Then as I pulled out all the ingredients today I realized that what I thought was a chocolate cake mix in the cupboard was a spice cake mix. It was too late to run to the store and still finish baking so I went ahead with the substitution. It turned out great. I would do this again (on purpose the next time) and perhaps leave the coconut out and toss in some butterscotch chips. It would probably also be good with some finely grated carrots in the spice cake mix too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Not bad but not deserving of its 4 1/2 star rating. Tastes like German chocolate cake except all mixed up. Personally I would prefer the classic German chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daron Rainer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
My son said that this is 10 stars out of 5. My husband said that this cake was one of his favorites. This is definitely a hit in my house. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
flavor is good, however my cake was runny in the middle and well done on the outside?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
had this recipe for years love the taste and it carries well to parties easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robert
Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I've made this great cake many times. For those of you who don't like the cream cheese and other ingredients sticking to the bottom of your cake pan, try this: Put 1/3 or 1/2 of the cake batter in a greased 9 X 13 pan. Then, put the coconut, pecans on the batter, followed by the cream cheese mix. Then, put the rest of the cake batter on top and bake as directed. It still gets rave reviews. I prefer using 1 cup of confectioner's sugar with the cream cheese and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This recipe was amazing. It was so easy to make and easy on the wallet as well. My family could not believe how much it tasted like German Chocolate. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Heaven in a pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyfar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I love this cake. It hits the mark when you need something sweet. Cream cheese, pecans, coconut, and chocolate....how can you go wrong? The only thing that would make it better is peanut butter. Now that's a thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made this for a cookout on this holiday weekend and got raving reviews from everyone who tasted it. I sprayed the pan with Pam and had no trouble getting the pieces out. I also took another reviewer's suggestion and added some semi-sweet chocolate chunks to the pecan/coconut layer and toasted the pecans and coconut to enhance their flavors. This was an "ugly", but very good cake that I plan on making over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States