Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Took this to a New Orleans night dinner and everyone loved it. I agree with another reviewer that it tastes better after it sits a bit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Great cake! Although definately very rich, will get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Excellent! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is actually the Earthquake Cake! Because this cake is all cracked up on top,(as if the earth had cracked) and a little note to help make the taste even better try this, use coconut pecan frosting along with the original recipe(coconut and pecans). Just by adding the frosting it just makes it a bit more tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Delicious. Best to leave it overnight or for several hours though before eating as it needs time to blend and settle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Tumut, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I have made this cake a few times. It is awsome!!! So moist and yummy. If you are looking for a easy, yummy chocolate dessert, look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
There were so many recipes like this out there. I went with this one and BOY was it a winner! It's even nice to take to a picnic because the warmer and gooier, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is one of the best cakes I've ever had. I'm not that fond of German Chocolate cake mixes so I used a Devil Foods. The third time I made it, I sprinkled some semi-sweet chocolate chips in the pecan layer and that made it even better. The cake is so moist and delicious. The second day it's even better. Another thing, the first time I made it the pecan/coconut layer stuck to the bottom really bad so the next 3 times I cooked it (yeah it's a big hit), I lined the cake pan with parchment paper with the paper overlapping the sides so when the cake was cooled I could pop it out the pan and put it on a decorative plate. There was no sticking whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoviceCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grangeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Walker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This cake is great! I do not use butter in the bottom of the pan. I just sprinkle the nuts and coconut on the bottom and pour cake batter on top. The cake comes out of the pan fine that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Dang, this is a good cake. I made it in round pans and inverted onto cake plates after thoroughly cooled. It looked great and served well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States