Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
It was so good. The more days it sat, the better it got!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I used butter instead of margarine. Like many others, my cream cheese batter fell to the bottom of the cake. When I served pieces, I made sure to flip the piece over so the cream cheese/coconut/pecan was on top just like a frosting. I had chilled the cake for a while in the fridge, so it did not stick. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Great and easy cake-bar! I brought it to work and everyone LOVED it! Very versitle using different cake mixes too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This was an easy recipe and it was so good. Tasted better cold from the frig. Delicious. Huge success with work and home. I'm loved ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Delicious. I did not change anything with the recipe and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Oh my! Made this this morning and we just ate a piece tonight. It is definitely a keeper. So good and so easy. I used a devils food cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCSEWLADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
My cream cheese mixture never sank but stayed on top and became a chewy, sticky mess. It is the reason I only gave this 4 stars. The taste of the cake, however, was fabulous. I will definitely make this again but will pour only 1/2 the cake batter over the coconut & pecans, then pour the cream cheese mixture, and then the final layer of cake batter. BTW my butter, coconut, and pecans didn't stick to the pan like many others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This cake was absolutely amazing!!! I had marble cake on hand and used 2 cups powdered sugar and it still turned out great. Hint for making powdered sugar with regular sugar: place 1 1/2 cups sugar and one tbsp cornstarch in a blender and blend, makes about two cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
It was beautiful, unfortunately, all I tasted was the excessive confectioners sugar in the cream cheese mixture. I think this cake would be amazing with 1/3 or 1/2 as much confectioner's sugar. Perhaps that would bring out the cream cheese taste? Also, I used 1/2 the butter in the bottom of the pan and it was plenty moist after baking, gooey even. Every other detail was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
yes it is gooey but delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States