Hunter's Venison Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mstracybrown
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Like reviewer Kelly, I swapped out the cottage cheese for sour cream - it does make it more runny, at least on the first day. We had it again for lunch over the next two days, and it was no longer runny. I also used ground mild sausage venison, which was nice. Overall the recipe is very easy and we loved it! I will definitely make this casserole again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstracybrown

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dancer25
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This casserole was delicious! My husband is an avid hunter and we have a freezer full of venison most of the time. If you live with a hunter or you hunt, yourself, you know what it's like to get stuck in a rut with venison. This recipe was excellent to change things up a bit! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I liked it, but felt that it really wasn't that spectacular. not 5 stars worth that's for sure. I'd make it again, without the sour cream substitute that i read in a lot of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I got some venison from a friend and had no idea what to do with it. I had most of the ingredients for the Hunter's Venison Casserole so made that tonight with a few changes: 1) No cottage Cheese. I subbed 1 extra egg and 1/2 cup organic thick yogurt (MINE DID NOT TURN OUT RUNNY!!) 2) No bell pepper. Extra carrots. 3) Added hot pepper flakes & cayanne 4) Left the skin on my smashed redskins and used probably 2.5 c 5) No shredded cheese - used 1/2 c grated Parmesan 6) Bake time - baked an extra 10 min (30 total) as I baked it in a Le Cruset. Delicious, easy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelarose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is really good. My husband and I are new to venison and are a little wary of eating it but this was a delicious recipe. Followed exactly except added a bit of cayenne. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was fantastic! I made it with real potatoes and threw in my dutch oven. Family approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I'm sorry to say that this was very mediocre. I found it to be quite bland and was not thrilled by the combination of flavors. I was hoping to be pleasantly surprised like the other reviewers, but I wasn't. If you would like to make this, I would highly suggest adding spices (maybe thyme, rosemary, or dill as Jessi suggested...or else cumin, coriander, cayenne) to the venison. Also, I think the cottage cheese would be better if added after baking. Although I think it would be much better with the suggestions I made above, I doubt that I will try to make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This recipe is a nice simple dinner, however I don't like the idea of using cottage cheese ( too runny ), so I used ricotta with the egg mixed in with it. I did add garlic salt to the venison as it was browning(my preference), and when I put it in the casserole dish, I added some rosemary, thyme and a little bit of dill seed. With these changes, I would give it five stars. This recipe is very versatile, and is an excellent base in which to start from. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Taste is absolutely wonderful. It is rather soupy, but I'm not sure how you would avoid that with all of the veggies. Nobody seemed to mind in my family, and my husband definitely wants me to make this again. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
The flavor was good, however it did get runny on the bottom when it was done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States