Hungry Man's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Hey yo, this recipe is off the hook. It tastes great, but the reason I gave it five stars was because of how easy and quick it was to make. It is an extremely convenient meal to make and that makes it all the more better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I fed a 24 member church group with this recipe and got good comments from all. The only thing I did different was added a small amount of Mrs. Dash's seasoning. ---UPDATE--- Made this recipe a 2nd time but used half SWEET POTATO and half RED POTATO. This was full of flavor. All enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by No Quintic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I made this recipe exactly as written then added two slices of American cheese when done. I love potatoes and I'm always looking of new ways to fix them. This is nothing fancy but it sure is a good tastey meal. Thanks Adaba for the treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
We make this all the time on the boat. What's not to like it has bacon ,onions and potatoes, that's the three corners of the food pyramid right all cooked in bacon grease . Really hits the spot after a long day of fishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Simple ingredients. Simple recipe. It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I used five potatoes and a little more than 1/3 of an onion. I didn't have bacon so I used butter and Johnny's seasoning salt and pepper. It was SO good and easy!!! Yeah!! My hubby was so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
GREAT! I added bell pepper and only used one onion. I also fried the entire pound of bacon and crumbled it all. I threw it in the crockpot, covered in it cheese and set it to keep warm! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYMEPOOH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Staffordsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I've made these, in varying forms, for years. My mom always called this style "German" fried potatoes. For convenience you can "nuke" some spuds the night before, or on the day of need and allowed to cool. Good stuff, Maynard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I grew with this recipe except that we did not boil the potatoes first. We peeled and sliced them. Then fried them in a small amount of oil alone with the onion and bacon that was cut in small pieces or chunks. Faster cooking that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glendalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
THIS IS HOW I MAKE MY HASH BROWNS TOO, BUT I ALSO ADD GARLIC POWDER AND GROUND BLACK PEPPER, WHEN COOKING, AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianedoyon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States