Hungarian Stuffed Yellow Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I didn't have tomato juice so I used a can of tomato soup. I added water to make 24 oz. Everythig else I kept the same. These were the best stuffed peppers that I have ever made. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gyqnbc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Im giving this 5 stars, as I LOVED them.....unfortunately, my husbands sentiments were not the same. (I knew he disliked stuffed peppers before making them....but, I WANTED them!!) I did add a pinch of basil and Italian seasoning to the meat mixture. Otherwise, these were perfect as-is! Satisfied my carving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These were really tasty! I used spicy Italian sausage instead of ground beef, and precooked the rice to help cut the cooking time down. Also added a little bit of cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
They were good, and easy to make, but they lacked oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Very yummy!! Came out good!! Tho I used different type of peppers, so I needed more! My mom has a slightly different version where she makes the tomato sauce sweet... i might ask her for the recipe and share it with you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
A lot of comments on here state that it could use more taste. The reason is that this recipe is missing a very important ingredient. Ground Pork! The meat should consist of 30 to 50% pork. That will make it MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Better to use the yellow hungarian peppers. Also where's the paprika, a staple in many hungarian meals. Added the onions as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This sounds like a bland version of a traditional Hungarian dish. We use Hungarian peppers which have a mild flesh but HOT seeds and fiber. { I recommend these peppers because bell peppers often have a bitter aftertaste} Scraping out the seeds and most fiber gives the dish some tang. Also, Hungarians use lean pork, not beef, and rice is at least parboiled before being mixed with meat and seasonings. Minced garlic, salt and pepper, minced parley are also part of the stuffing. Sauce base is tomato juice, as stated, but it is thickened with a roux and sugar is added to reduce acidity - a mild marinara would probably taste good too, but then the flavor would not be authentically Hungarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Fantastic! Delicious, despite the following changes because of time/materials on hand: a) Used ground chicken b) sauteed the onions in a little olive oil, added paprika, then browned the chicken and added more paprika. Mixed into cooked brown rice and stuffed the peppers. c) Baked in oven on 375 for 60 minutes, but used tomato sauce instead of juice. d) Used low fat sour cream, added 30 minutes before end. So rich and delicious - the ultimate comfort food, without being too decadent. I would definitely make this again - and will try the original recipe too when I have the time/ingredients available, but I think I'd keep the paprika, as it adds such a great flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very good recipe. I used green peppers instead of yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States