Hungarian Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Nice recipe! I prefer to replace ketchup with tomato paste, and hit it with a splash of vinegar if you find you need the acidity. By the way, on the strange feedback comment about this dish not being hungarian, I am from Hungary, and I can verify that not only are tomatoes extremely common in Hungarian food, "tons of paprika" do not appear in every dish. That would, frankly, be bizarre. Tomatoes are called paradicsom -the same word as "paradise"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I thought this was very good, but I, as did others, tweaked it. I used thick bone in pork chops, because they tend not to dry out. I browned the pork chops, removed them and sauteed 1 carton of baby bella mushrooms and 1 medium onion, which I sliced thin. I then added the pork chops again. I used 1/2 cup cream, 8 oz sour cream, 1/2 good sherry (not cooking), 1/8 cup ketchup, 1/8 cup tomato paste, 1 TBS W-sauce, and 1/2 tsp hot paprika, 1/2 tsp salt. I let it simmer on low for 40 minutes and added 6 oz cooked egg noodle and let them soak up the sauce for 10 minutes. It came out really well, and my husband raved. I would have given in 5 stars, but I changed it too much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
YUMMY! First of all let me say that I heeded the warnings and used less ketchup, cooked it less time, and put the sour cream in at the last 5 minutes. Also, I sauteed some onion and garlic with the pork chops, I used hot Hungarian paprika, and increased the amounts of worchestershire sauce. This was excellent! Contrary to others, this smelled great and I served it over egg noodles. I will definitely make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Alright I read all the reviews and heeded the warnings, halved the ketchup, used more w-c, used tomato paste, simmered for about 25 minutes, tons of Hungarian Paprika (I added garlic too), etc- and added my own- I used Wondra flour to coat the chops first. When my boyfriend and I sat down to eat- we thought the sauce tasty, the chops were cooked right and juicy- the only problem was that the chops themselves only tasted like lightly seasoned pork chops! None of that tasty sauce (which was still too ketchup-y, Definitely using some crushed tomatos and tomato paste next time) had managed to seep into the chops! My solution: Marinade! In a big plastic bag, pour a nice mixture of however you're gong to concoct your tomato base, w-c sauce, and the chops. Poke the chops a bit with a fork before adding them to the bag. Leave in fridge for a few hours to overnight and cook the next day. This resulted in juicy, flavorful chops that were complimented by the sauce rather than coated by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I didn't have Sherry, so I used cooking wine. I used les ketchup like others suggested. The taste was great, but the presentation was pretty bad. All the breading came off the chops. It still tasted great. If I make this again I won't bread the chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2000
We were wondering what to do with our chops one evening and this recipe answered that for us! They were wonderfully different than what we normally would do with chops, but not too different. The tangy sauce is perfect! We used a Manzilla sherry (0) and combined with the wooster booster (Worcestershire sauce) added just the right zing. A really good balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Delicious. I cut back a bit on the ketchup, used dry vermouth instead of sherry, heavy cream instead of sour cream (started cooking without looking carefully at what I had in the store cupboard), cooked it for about 30 minutes and it was great. My husband said it was probably the best pork chop recipe he has eaten in ages
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Made this exactly as per the recipe. Delicious - wonderful aroma and excellent taste. Froze well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
My husband who hates trying anything new thought this was great! I did pound the chops thin & doubled the sauce-will absolutely do this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I sauteed some sliced onions and some fresh minced garlic in a few tablespoons of butter before adding the flour. I also used white wine instead of sherry--I made no other changes. I served this with buttered egg noodles and roasted broccoli. The family liked it, it was a quick and interesting new way to make pork chops. It kind of reminded me of the beginnings of stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States