Hungarian Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This was the most tender pork I've had in a long time. Didn't care much for the sauce though. Used tomato paste instead of ketchup and it gave the sauce a strong tomato taste. I also added the sour cream when the recipe called for it instead of waiting until the end, and it kind of curdled. I think I may make this again sometime with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
My kitchen was somewhat unequipped for this recipe, but I went ahead and made it with a lot of substitutions. Bear that in mind when reading my suggestions, because they may be the result of my swapping ingredients. More paprika would definitely be good, and I also ended up making extra sauce and still having it cook down a little too much. I'd keep an eye on the sauce as you simmer. Onions and mushrooms are a great addition, as other reviewers have said. I will definitely put in a lot more onions next time. Cooking them a bit, then simmering them in the sauce gives them a great flavor and adds a lot to the pork. All in all, a very good recipe that I think will be great as I tinker around with it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I am not a huge fan of pork chops-mostly because I tend to dry them out when cooking, but not with this recipe. We really enjoyed them served over whole wheat egg noodles. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Alright I read all the reviews and heeded the warnings, halved the ketchup, used more w-c, used tomato paste, simmered for about 25 minutes, tons of Hungarian Paprika (I added garlic too), etc- and added my own- I used Wondra flour to coat the chops first. When my boyfriend and I sat down to eat- we thought the sauce tasty, the chops were cooked right and juicy- the only problem was that the chops themselves only tasted like lightly seasoned pork chops! None of that tasty sauce (which was still too ketchup-y, Definitely using some crushed tomatos and tomato paste next time) had managed to seep into the chops! My solution: Marinade! In a big plastic bag, pour a nice mixture of however you're gong to concoct your tomato base, w-c sauce, and the chops. Poke the chops a bit with a fork before adding them to the bag. Leave in fridge for a few hours to overnight and cook the next day. This resulted in juicy, flavorful chops that were complimented by the sauce rather than coated by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I followed Ilovetocook's advise and made those changes, except I didn't use the hot paprika and I substituted Marsala for the sherry. I liked this recipe and would gladly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I didn't have Sherry, so I used cooking wine. I used les ketchup like others suggested. The taste was great, but the presentation was pretty bad. All the breading came off the chops. It still tasted great. If I make this again I won't bread the chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I made this tonight for my husband whose normally does not like cream sauces. Even though it does not look good, the dish was delicious and will make it again. lookingtobeslim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I only gave this recipe 4 stars as I have mixed feelings about this recipe. I followed the original recipe, even though I was leary of adding the sour cream at the beginning of simmering, and it turned out well (no curdling). I served it with homemade Amish egg noodles. While my husband and I liked it and ate it all in one sitting we both agreed it was not something we would want again. I think there was some flavor that was "off" in the sauce to our tastes, but can't figure out what it was exactly. Perhaps if I had substitled some tomato paste for the ketchup and sauteed some onions and/or mushrooms as suggested by others we may have liked it better. Still it was a good recipe, easy to fix with readily available ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I do something very similar to this but I do water, ketchup, brown sugar, worcesteshire sauce and beef boullion. Then I add the sour cream and a ton of minced onion. It is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Made this exactly as per the recipe. Delicious - wonderful aroma and excellent taste. Froze well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States